The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
NFHS Question 68

We could not agree on the answer to this question at our association meeting this evening. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please cite references if possible. The question goes: A player who has been withdrawn may not re-enter bfore the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. True or False
__________________
A MAN WHO STANDS FOR NOTHING WILL FALL FOR ANYTHING~Malcolm X
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
SECTION 3 SUBSTITUTION

ART. 4 . . . A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraz423
A player who has been withdrawn may not re-enter bfore the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. True or False
True! But not when the ball becomes live. It 's when time actually runs off the game clock. You can have a live ball without time running off the clock. As in a throw-in after a dead ball. A team could call a time out during a throw in without time running of the clock. The ball was live during the throw in but no time ran off before the time out. The sub that came out still can't come in until time runs off the clock.

Rule 3 Section 3 Art. 4 page 23 Rule Book
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 09:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
True! But not when the ball becomes live. It 's when time actually runs off the game clock. You can have a live ball without time running off the clock. As in a throw-in after a dead ball. A team could call a time out during a throw in without time running of the clock. The ball was live during the throw in but no time ran off before the time out. The sub that came out still can't come in until time runs off the clock.

Rule 3 Section 3 Art. 4 page 23 Rule Book
If you didn't type your question wrong then the answer to your question is False.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
It is a poorly written question. The statement as written is true because the team member certainly may not reenter before then. However, there is one additional requirement that also has to be met -- time coming off the clock. This part is not included in the statement. So the test question is incomplete, but not incorrect, does that make it false? Who knows, who cares what the NFHS answer is? Just know the rule and apply it properly during the game.

This is one of the two that I missed according to the NFHS answer key.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 10:00pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Correct, time must come off the clock. The ball is live during a throw-in, etc. So time must come off the clock.... so the answer is falso.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
This is one of the two that I missed according to the NFHS answer key.[/QUOTE]

How did you answer this question on the test?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
As I wrote above who cares what the NFHS answer is? The point is to help people understand the rule, not match the federation answer key.

This is why discussion of the exam questions on this forum is such a controversial topic. I try to help people learn, not just provide answers.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
If you didn't type your question wrong then the answer to your question is False.
The original question *was* typed incorrectly ("bfore" instead of "before") ... but the correct answer still is False! Oh, and Scrapper and Ignats need not worry about this one as the distinction I drew is not a semantic one. Most of us no doubt gave the same meaning to "bfore" and "before."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 23
What

If the player is withdrawn doesn't that mean he or she went back to the bench?? Then they could still enter the game at any time, I think
__________________
That's all i got to say bout that
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Question 24 MrRabbit Softball 15 Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58pm
NFHS question #9 shipwreck Softball 6 Wed Aug 24, 2005 06:31pm
NFHS question oppool Softball 1 Fri Jan 21, 2005 05:37pm
Question #99 NFHS RookieDude Basketball 22 Thu Nov 11, 2004 01:04pm
NFHS QUESTION #40 AND #70 roadking Basketball 8 Mon Nov 08, 2004 02:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1