The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS Question 68 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29354-nfhs-question-68-a.html)

kraz423 Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:32pm

NFHS Question 68
 
We could not agree on the answer to this question at our association meeting this evening. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please cite references if possible. The question goes: A player who has been withdrawn may not re-enter bfore the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. True or False

Ref Daddy Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:40pm

SECTION 3 SUBSTITUTION

ART. 4 . . . A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement.

Gimlet25id Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kraz423
A player who has been withdrawn may not re-enter bfore the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement. True or False

True! But not when the ball becomes live. It 's when time actually runs off the game clock. You can have a live ball without time running off the clock. As in a throw-in after a dead ball. A team could call a time out during a throw in without time running of the clock. The ball was live during the throw in but no time ran off before the time out. The sub that came out still can't come in until time runs off the clock.

Rule 3 Section 3 Art. 4 page 23 Rule Book

Gimlet25id Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
True! But not when the ball becomes live. It 's when time actually runs off the game clock. You can have a live ball without time running off the clock. As in a throw-in after a dead ball. A team could call a time out during a throw in without time running of the clock. The ball was live during the throw in but no time ran off before the time out. The sub that came out still can't come in until time runs off the clock.

Rule 3 Section 3 Art. 4 page 23 Rule Book

If you didn't type your question wrong then the answer to your question is False.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:57pm

It is a poorly written question. The statement as written is true because the team member certainly may not reenter before then. However, there is one additional requirement that also has to be met -- time coming off the clock. This part is not included in the statement. So the test question is incomplete, but not incorrect, does that make it false? Who knows, who cares what the NFHS answer is? Just know the rule and apply it properly during the game.

This is one of the two that I missed according to the NFHS answer key.

tjones1 Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:00pm

Correct, time must come off the clock. The ball is live during a throw-in, etc. So time must come off the clock.... so the answer is falso.

Gimlet25id Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:07pm

This is one of the two that I missed according to the NFHS answer key.[/QUOTE]

How did you answer this question on the test?

Nevadaref Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:15pm

As I wrote above who cares what the NFHS answer is? The point is to help people understand the rule, not match the federation answer key.

This is why discussion of the exam questions on this forum is such a controversial topic. I try to help people learn, not just provide answers.

Nevadaref Thu Nov 09, 2006 07:42am

Let's look at this statement in a different way.

Can anyone provide an example in which a player who has been withdrawn MAY re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement?

Ignats75 Thu Nov 09, 2006 08:40am

Quote:

Can anyone provide an example in which a player who has been withdrawn MAY re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement?
A6 is beckoned on the floor as a sub during a 1 and 1 free throw. A only has 6 players eligible. During the first free throw, which was successful, A6 (or A2-A5) needs to be substituted....i.e. sudden bloody nose, turned ankle on one of those asinine false rebounds when players don't pay attention to what the administering official says, dead ball foul that causes A6 to foul out et al.

Since A must field a full team if there are players eligible, I would allow A1 to come back into the game.

Every single one of those scenarios has happened during a game I worked at some point in my career. Thankfully none of them involvred the substitution issue because I'm sure the B coach would argue about it.

FrankHtown Thu Nov 09, 2006 09:06am

Another example is A1 fouls B1. During dead ball, B6 subs for B1. You hand the ball to B3 for the throw -in. Horn sounds. It's the dreaded 7th team foul on Team A. You need to bring B1 back on the floor to shoot 1 + 1.

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 09, 2006 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
Since A must field a full team if there are players eligible, I would allow A1 to come back into the game.

The problem is that A1 is not eligible at that point, for exactly the reason that we're discussing.

Ignats75 Thu Nov 09, 2006 09:35am

Quote:

The problem is that A1 is not eligible at that point, for exactly the reason that we're discussing.
Semantics. I contend that A1 is an eligible player in that (s)he has not been disqualified from the game.

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 09, 2006 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
Semantics. I contend that A1 is an eligible player in that (s)he has not been disqualified from the game.

I don't think it's semantics at all. The rules specifically say that the player is not allowed to return to the game. That means she or he is ineligible. The team will have to play with 4 until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has properly started.

Ignats75 Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:18pm

Common Sense?
 
So making a temporary travesty of the game is better than allowing the player back in?:rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1