The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
Backcourt/On the jump

During the opening jump ball the ball is tipped into team A's frontcourt. A3 tries to track down the ball as it is going out of bounds. He jumps and secures the ball with one hand and tosses it into the backcourt where A2 retrieves the ball.

Backcourt Violation or not?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 11:01am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF
During the opening jump ball the ball is tipped into team A's frontcourt. A3 tries to track down the ball as it is going out of bounds. He jumps and secures the ball with one hand and tosses it into the backcourt where A2 retrieves the ball.

Backcourt Violation or not?

The key is "he secures control." This establishes team control in frontcourt. Thus, when ball is first touched in backcourt by a teammate, it is a violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,105
Team Control is off during a jump but is back on when a player establishes control.

A player is in control only when holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

If a3 established player (team) control in the front court you have a violation.

If he just slapped the ball into the back court - I think I got nothing because player control was never established.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
The jump ball exception allows a player to catch the tapped ball in flight and land in the FC or BC. No other exception is given.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
What happened

I was U2, I was becoming the center the player cupped the ball and throw it into the backcourt I thought it should have been over and back the trail did not call it. We talked about it at the half and thought it was missed.
It was last year, won't let it happen this year.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larks
Team Control is off during a jump but is back on when a player establishes control.

A player is in control only when holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

If a3 established player (team) control in the front court you have a violation.

If he just slapped the ball into the back court - I think I got nothing because player control was never established.
I gotta agree with Larks. Unless A establishes control of the ball by holding it in his hand, its nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF
I was U2, I was becoming the center the player cupped the ball and throw it into the backcourt I thought it should have been over and back the trail did not call it. We talked about it at the half and thought it was missed.
It was last year, won't let it happen this year.
So it's up to your judgment whether what you saw met the definition of "holding" the ball. In your position, I'd have probably done the same as you, namely, waited to see what someone else thought!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF
I was U2, I was becoming the center the player cupped the ball and throw it into the backcourt I thought it should have been over and back the trail did not call it. We talked about it at the half and thought it was missed.
It was last year, won't let it happen this year.
When in doubt on this type of play, I would err on the side of saying control was NOT established and that there is no violation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
The jump ball exception allows a player to catch the tapped ball in flight and land in the FC or BC. No other exception is given.
Hey Tony,
What if on this play, A3 had jumped from his frontcourt, caught the ball in the air, and then landed in his backcourt?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 03:20pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
The original post said he "secures the ball." The word secure indicates control. If so, it is clearly a violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did I Jump the Gun? tmp44 Baseball 29 Sat Jun 11, 2005 04:05am
Question -- Jump ball right after opening Jump ball bradfordwilkins Basketball 9 Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:42pm
Jump Ball: Possession Arrow vs. Actual Jump Ball KingTripleJump Basketball 21 Thu Feb 12, 2004 08:47am
Jump or travel ??? WeekendRef Basketball 5 Tue Feb 10, 2004 09:57am
Re-Jump Brian Watson Basketball 10 Sat Jan 06, 2001 01:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1