The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
I went to the store yesterday and was looking for some gear. There was a bunch of Cubs gear on the shelf. There were fewer Dwayne Wade jerseys than Cubs jerseys. That must say something about the constant success of the Cubs year in and year out.

Peace
The stores know what sells and what doesn't.

How many Cardinal jerseys were there?

Ok, I'm done. Leave me alone so I can sulk in peace.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Suppose, immediately after the ball goes through the basket, the coach requests and is granted a TO.

The coach approaches the T official and gets the official to agree that the ball hit the wire, but the official thinks that the ball remains in play after doing so.

The coach approaches the L official and gets the L official to agree that the ball hitting the wire makes the ball dead, but the L official didn't see that happen.

The officials talk and T convinces L that the ball hit the wire; L convinces T that the ball should have been dead and the basket shouldn't have counted.

Now what?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 277
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Suppose, immediately after the ball goes through the basket, the coach requests and is granted a TO.

The coach approaches the T official and gets the official to agree that the ball hit the wire, but the official thinks that the ball remains in play after doing so.

The coach approaches the L official and gets the L official to agree that the ball hitting the wire makes the ball dead, but the L official didn't see that happen.

The officials talk and T convinces L that the ball hit the wire; L convinces T that the ball should have been dead and the basket shouldn't have counted.

Now what?
If I'm L, I tell my partner that he didn't see anything.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartsy
If I'm L, I tell my partner that he didn't see anything.
Well that's fine, except Bob's scenario assumes the L saw nothing.

But the L knew the rule.

You gonna claim you don't know the rule?

"I know nuthink! Nuthink!!"

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 04:32pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
I am not sure we can call a violation after the fact when no violation was called in the first place. Of course you might "know the rule" but you have not called a violation at all. My understanding of the timeout to correct a ruling is when we misapply the rule, not to debate a judgment call. I would think if the violation is not called, then you cannot come back later and say, "Oh btw, there was a violation." Unless you can show some evidence of such a scenario in the casebook (or other ruling reference) then it would be hard to come back and call a violation after the fact.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 04:56pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
my interpretation

2-10 does not apply in this case. This is not an erroneously counted score. The only way this basket does not count is if the ball is called dead when it hits the wire. A violation that is not called is not a violation. There is no provision for going back later and making this call.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 04:58pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
It was bound to happen.....

sooner or later. I agree with Rut.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 04:22pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The officials talk and T convinces L that the ball hit the wire; L convinces T that the ball should have been dead and the basket shouldn't have counted.

Now what?
"Why are you telling me now and why did you not call a violation when the ball hit the wire?"

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Suppose, immediately after the ball goes through the basket, the coach requests and is granted a TO.

The coach approaches the T official and gets the official to agree that the ball hit the wire, but the official thinks that the ball remains in play after doing so.

The coach approaches the L official and gets the L official to agree that the ball hitting the wire makes the ball dead, but the L official didn't see that happen.

The officials talk and T convinces L that the ball hit the wire; L convinces T that the ball should have been dead and the basket shouldn't have counted.

Now what?
Geeze Bob, can't you see we're busy talkin' about something else?

Anyway, if you're forcing us to stay on-topic, I would have to say it's correctable. In your scenario, the T saw the play, mis-applied a rule by seeing the ball hit the support and not ruling it dead. It wasn't an issue of "not seeing" the violation, or judgement as to whether the ball hit the support or not. Wipe off the basket by team A, do not charge a TO, and give the ball to B for a spot throw-in following the violation. I would then talk to my (obviously) inexperienced partner and tell them we need to not do that again.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 05:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
If all three of you missed the violation I do not think that you can go back and call the violation after the fact. If one of you saw it they should have called it even late.
If you all missed it then you all are going to have to live with it - and I see no way that you can do anything to correct it, maybe elasticity but no other way out that I can see.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
I think the point being discussed really revolves around whether the words "results in" in the correctable error rule mean:
  1. immediate and directly related to the rule being set aside.
  2. subsequent actions that follow setting aside a rule.
It is my belief that the (1) is intended. If it were to be (2), then an obvious but missed traveling in the backcourt would be subject to a correctable error if the team scores on that possession and the other team's coach questions it. The score wouldn't have happend if the travel had been called. We don't go back and get that. So, if we don't call it when it happens, we don't go back and get an OOB violation, even if it is just a fraction of a second before the score.

The rule set aside must be directly related to the counting or canceling the goal itself, not a prior infractions.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 12:49pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Dan, not including your shot clock example would you go back in time and change something after a coach calls a timeout to question it? Have you been playing devil's advocate this whole time?
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 01:00pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Violation - a rules infraction of the type listed in rule 9.
One of the officials' duties is to determine when the ball becomes dead.
I guess Dan is right, a violation that isn't called is still a violation. However, there still isn't a rule that allows us (no I'm not perfect Dan ) to go back and fix what occurred because a violation was missed. This is where we must be responsible. Responsible to tell the coach that basically there isn't anything that can be done, responsible to work on our craft so these types of mistakes don't happen and responsible for knowing the rules - and not cheating on the test!
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun
Violation - a rules infraction of the type listed in rule 9.
One of the officials' duties is to determine when the ball becomes dead.
I guess Dan is right, a violation that isn't called is still a violation. However, there still isn't a rule that allows us (no I'm not perfect Dan ) to go back and fix what occurred because a violation was missed.
I agree we can't go back and call a missed violation, because that would be a judgement call. But, in this case, your partner didn't "miss" the violation (didn't see it, wasn't in position, wasn't looking there, etc.), they mis-applied a rule by calling the ball in play even though it did hit the support.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun
This is where we must be responsible. Responsible to tell the coach that basically there isn't anything that can be done, responsible to work on our craft so these types of mistakes don't happen and responsible for knowing the rules - and not cheating on the test!
So, if we shoot an undeserved 1-and-1, and the coach calls our attention to it right away, do we tell them, "Basically, there isn't anything that can be done. We'll try to be more responsible in working on our craft, coach. We'll make sure that mistake doesn't happen again."? Of course not, because there is a way to step into that famous Wayback Machine and fix it.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun
Dan, not including your shot clock example would you go back in time and change something after a coach calls a timeout to question it? Have you been playing devil's advocate this whole time?
Playing devils advocate somewhat, but I would definitely take away the basket in Bob's play simply because my partner didn't know the rule. He screwed it up and I would have taken the opportunity to fix it.

When the shot clock came to the local high schools by me a while ago there was a somewhat similar play. I was L. A1 puts up a shot, shot clock horn sounds, ball misses rim and goes OOB at the endline off B1. My partner at T didn't have a whistle so I assumed the ball hit and signal A's ball on the OOB off B. Coach A calls a timeout and Coach B walks on the court..."Dan! The ball missed the rim! How could it be be their ball? It was a shot clock violation!" I huddled with my partner, asked him if the ball missed the rim he said yep, said he froze on the play. I brought the coaches together, explained what happened and it was B's ball on the shot clock violation. Also told coach A he can have his timeout back if he wanted it. Coach A said no, he'll keep the time out, smiled and said good job (not that his opinion meant anything at the time...just pointing out that there are some reasonable ones out there).

The violation did not go away because my partner froze. There was zero judgement involved. It was still a violation, we just administered the penalty late.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ripped from the news wire.. cowbyfan1 Baseball 17 Mon Aug 08, 2005 07:51pm
3rd strike dropped hits me, hits batter out of box chuck chopper Softball 8 Sat May 07, 2005 01:21am
Ball hits guy wire during FT Jimgolf Basketball 10 Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:03am
Blocked shot after hits backboard... jritchie Basketball 8 Fri Jan 21, 2005 03:36pm
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1