The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 414
Bunt attempt, I call 3rd strike, in the dirt, hits my shin, then bounces forward & hits batter running to 1st & she is now over the plate not in the box any longer. I called nothing. Was she out I wonder for interference ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Was she out? Depends on what you "saw" .

Technically, you are no different from the ground, so the call should be no different from the ball rebounding off a clod of dirt. (How does THAT make you feel!)
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
thats an interesting application of the dirt rule.

I dunno if calling that out is worth it.

This must be pondered in a Zen like manner..
hmm
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by chuck chopper
Bunt attempt, I call 3rd strike, in the dirt, hits my shin, then bounces forward & hits batter running to 1st & she is now over the plate not in the box any longer. I called nothing. Was she out I wonder for interference ?
Interference with a dropped third strike results in the batter-runner being out. Rule 8-2-6.

Interference doesn't have to be intentional. If she interferred with the catcher attempting to make a play, it's dead ball, and OUT.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
"...then bounces forward & hits batter running to 1st & she is now over the plate not in the box any longer."

F2 misplayed pitch. Ball hits runner.

Nothing. Keep playing.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
What's the matter? Did we get tired of the U3K bouncing off the catcher threads, so now we are going to use the umpire?

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2005, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
The ball hitting batter doesn't seem to have hindered anyone from making a play. If anything, it probably made F2's play easier ... less distance to chase the ball. I have nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2005, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally posted by Homer
Quote:
Originally posted by chuck chopper
Bunt attempt, I call 3rd strike, in the dirt, hits my shin, then bounces forward & hits batter running to 1st & she is now over the plate not in the box any longer. I called nothing. Was she out I wonder for interference ?
Interference with a dropped third strike results in the batter-runner being out. Rule 8-2-6.

Interference doesn't have to be intentional. If she interferred with the catcher attempting to make a play, it's dead ball, and OUT.

Homer's got the rule, guys. She's out.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 07, 2005, 01:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
Thumbs down D3K

After bouncing this off a few of my fellow umpires, it comes down to this... The only way you can have any call but live ball play on is if the batter runner goes out of their way to kick the ball into the beachers.

The pitcher throws a bad pitch and the catcher in her attempt to stop the ball fails to lay a glove on it and now the ball hits the umpire and brounces out to hit the batter runner, if you call this interference, I'll tell you as the coach for the defense thank you for the freebie.

Same call if the ball hits the catcher and brounces out and hits the batter runner. She had her chance.

What about a D3K that goes to the back stop on a small area between the foul lines and the back stop with out being touched brounces back and hits the batter runner. I have seen it.

Live ball play on.



Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1