![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in: a. Failure to award a merited free throw. You've called the second delay which should have resulted in a merited free throw that you did not award. As long as the error is caught during the first dead ball before the clock has properly started, shouldn't this be a correctable error. If not, why not. |
|
|||
|
If you call the T after the ball is live, and go back and issue a T, then the official is delaying the game. Let it go and keep the game going. Our primary responsilbity is to make sure the game flows.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Insert cool signature line here! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I would agree this is not correctable if the officials did not report the delay to the table. (In essence, a no call) However, if the officials reported the second delay, this should be a correctable error situation. If you believe it is not, please explain. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm sorry but I'm going to 2-10-1: I have an error in a rule being inadvertently set aside that results in the failure to award a merited free throw. I'm shooting free throws. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Correctable errors all deal with the penalty portion of a called foul (or counting a basket as the incorrect number of points on a try).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
We have already established that we called and reported the second warning. In your example there is no call. By rule the second warning results in a technical foul. A rule which was inadvertently set aside and results in free throws. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Or, what about team members wearing illegal uniforms (e.g., with a manufacturer's logo on the jersey)? This can only be penalized as the player enters the game. Once the player is in, it's too late (unless the player leaves and reenters), even though the rule continues to be violated. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm just thinking of the situation when you report a foul to the table (you don't realize it's the seventh). You resume play, then within the time limits you find out it was the seventh foul, so you shoot the one and one. Similarly, you report the delay (you don't realize it's the second). You resume play, then within the time limits you find out it was the second delay. I think you shoot the FTs. Last edited by Kajun Ref N Texas; Wed Oct 18, 2006 at 03:59pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I gotta keep a rule book with me when I read this forum. My head hurts. |
|
|||
|
Mr. Jenkins:
And, the T in (b) is charged to the player. Please check whether the technical for delay is charged to the player. I believe it's a Team technical, and the individual does not get charged. I don't have my book with me, and we had this happen in the first half of a game. We charged the player with a technical, but told the coaches we would check the rule book at half time. We checked, and if I remember correctly, we removed the T from the individual player. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Delay on B? | dumbref | Football | 17 | Sat Oct 29, 2005 01:13pm |
| warning for delay! | jritchie | Basketball | 4 | Fri Oct 21, 2005 04:48am |
| Delay T | Dan_ref | Basketball | 7 | Sun Feb 01, 2004 07:53am |
| Thrower in delay...... | Jeremy Hohn | Basketball | 7 | Tue Nov 19, 2002 02:28am |
| Delay after TO | physicsref | Basketball | 26 | Thu Dec 06, 2001 09:21pm |