The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2006, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
Tip on shot rebound

A1 shoots and misses, A2 tips ball toward A3 but the ball goes into the backcourt where A1 recovers the ball. If the tip from A2 to A3 was intenional, directed, or on purpose, could this be considered team control and therefor be a backcourt violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2006, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
No team control, a tip is not posession.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2006, 01:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
4-12-5 . . . Team control does not exist during a jump ball or the touching of a rebound, but is re-established when a player secures control.

4-15-4 NOTE 2: A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2006, 05:45am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
4-12-5 . . . Team control does not exist during a jump ball or the touching of a rebound, but is re-established when a player secures control.

4-15-4 NOTE 2: A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions.
Or....

5-2-5: When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and three-tenths (.3) of a second or less remains on the clock, a player may not gain control of the ball and try for a field goal. In this situation, only a tap could score.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2006, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
4-15-4 NOTE 2: A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions.
Logically, then, if the player is batting the ball toward another player, rather than away from other players as stated above, then the player is in control.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2006, 09:15am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Logically, then, if the player is batting the ball toward another player, rather than away from other players as stated above, then the player is in control.
Logically, no. The player is not in control. See case book play 6.7COMMENT.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Oct 11, 2006 at 09:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2006, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Logically, then, if the player is batting the ball toward another player, rather than away from other players as stated above, then the player is in control.
Jim, the important thing is not where the player bats the ball (toward a teammate or away from an opponent). The important thing is that the player either bats or holds the ball. Batting (regardless of the direction of the bat) does not establish player control. Remember that player control is established ONLY by holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Otherwise, no player control.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2006, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Batting (regardless of the direction of the bat) does not establish player control.
How about when batting the ball to the ground? Doesn't this establish the start of a dribble, hence control?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2006, 08:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukealex
A1 shoots and misses, A2 tips ball toward A3 but the ball goes into the backcourt where A1 recovers the ball. If the tip from A2 to A3 was intenional, directed, or on purpose, could this be considered team control and therefor be a backcourt violation?
While the other answers are correct (tip <> player control), the rebounder could grasp the ball with one hand and pass it toward A3. This would be player control, and result in a backcourt violation. I thought there was some case play to this effect, but I couldn't find it in a quick search
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebound action tomegun Basketball 8 Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:49pm
Shooter gets own rebound Cyber-Ref Basketball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 08:14pm
OOB Rebound Luv4Asian8 Basketball 10 Sun Apr 04, 2004 09:08am
Shot Rebound, Foul Lane Block bwbuddy Basketball 5 Mon Jan 05, 2004 10:52am
Can a player rebound a missed shot Ron Grzywacz Basketball 3 Tue Jun 27, 2000 01:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1