The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
My opinion: Once the ball has become live, the game is not being delayed. It's then too late to assess the penalty for delay.
I agree with Bob. (I've been doing that a lot recently...)

It's not a correctable error situation, so those rules and time limits wouldn't apply.

What if a coach calls you a cheatin' SOB, and, for whatever reason, you decide to think about it for a play or two. Then, after play goes up and down the court, you decide the comment was false and it really was unsportsmanlike. Do you issue the T then?

The play, and the time to make the call is past, so we move on.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I agree with Bob. (I've been doing that a lot recently...)

It's not a correctable error situation, so those rules and time limits wouldn't apply.

What if a coach calls you a cheatin' SOB, and, for whatever reason, you decide to think about it for a play or two. Then, after play goes up and down the court, you decide the comment was false and it really was unsportsmanlike. Do you issue the T then?

The play, and the time to make the call is past, so we move on.
Why is this not a Correctable Error. 2-10-1

Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in:
a. Failure to award a merited free throw.

You've called the second delay which should have resulted in a merited free throw that you did not award. As long as the error is caught during the first dead ball before the clock has properly started, shouldn't this be a correctable error.

If not, why not.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 259
If you call the T after the ball is live, and go back and issue a T, then the official is delaying the game. Let it go and keep the game going. Our primary responsilbity is to make sure the game flows.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwanr1
If you call the T after the ball is live, and go back and issue a T, then the official is delaying the game. Let it go and keep the game going. Our primary responsilbity is to make sure the game flows.
Then why do we have Correctable Errors in the first place?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
Then why do we have Correctable Errors in the first place?
I think the issue is the time limit to make the ruling. The Correctable error rule addresses limitations on the time limits to assess the penalties or correct an improperly executed penalty.
__________________
Insert cool signature line here!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Durkee
I think the issue is the time limit to make the ruling. The Correctable error rule addresses limitations on the time limits to assess the penalties or correct an improperly executed penalty.
The original situation doesn't specify that the officials did or did not report the delay.

I would agree this is not correctable if the officials did not report the delay to the table. (In essence, a no call)

However, if the officials reported the second delay, this should be a correctable error situation.

If you believe it is not, please explain.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
However, if the officials reported the second delay, this should be a correctable error situation.

If you believe it is not, please explain.
I don't think it's correctable b/c there are no FTs awarded for a warning. If the official had issued the T, then got distracted somehow and forgot to give the FTs, then that's correctable. But the foul was never called. So no FTs were merited.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
Then why do we have Correctable Errors in the first place?
Failure to call a foul or violation that should be called is not a correctable error. It is either called at the time of the infraction or it is not called.

Correctable errors all deal with the penalty portion of a called foul (or counting a basket as the incorrect number of points on a try).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Failure to call a foul or violation that should be called is not a correctable error. It is either called at the time of the infraction or it is not called.

Correctable errors all deal with the penalty portion of a called foul (or counting a basket as the incorrect number of points on a try).
Apples and Oranges.

We have already established that we called and reported the second warning. In your example there is no call.

By rule the second warning results in a technical foul. A rule which was inadvertently set aside and results in free throws.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
Apples and Oranges.

We have already established that we called and reported the second warning. In your example there is no call.

By rule the second warning results in a technical foul. A rule which was inadvertently set aside and results in free throws.
You make some good points. But, what about a player who enters who is not in the book? If the scorer adds the player, and the ball becomes live, it's too late to penalize.

Or, what about team members wearing illegal uniforms (e.g., with a manufacturer's logo on the jersey)? This can only be penalized as the player enters the game. Once the player is in, it's too late (unless the player leaves and reenters), even though the rule continues to be violated.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Mr. Jenkins:

And, the T in (b) is charged to the player.

Please check whether the technical for delay is charged to the player. I believe it's a Team technical, and the individual does not get charged. I don't have my book with me, and we had this happen in the first half of a game. We charged the player with a technical, but told the coaches we would check the rule book at half time. We checked, and if I remember correctly, we removed the T from the individual player.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 01:37pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Mr. Jenkins:

And, the T in (b) is charged to the player.

Please check whether the technical for delay is charged to the player. I believe it's a Team technical, and the individual does not get charged. I don't have my book with me, and we had this happen in the first half of a game. We charged the player with a technical, but told the coaches we would check the rule book at half time. We checked, and if I remember correctly, we removed the T from the individual player.
If the player touches the ball the "T" is charged to the player, if the "T" is for delay of game it is charged as a Team Technical.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay on B? dumbref Football 17 Sat Oct 29, 2005 01:13pm
warning for delay! jritchie Basketball 4 Fri Oct 21, 2005 04:48am
Delay T Dan_ref Basketball 7 Sun Feb 01, 2004 07:53am
Thrower in delay...... Jeremy Hohn Basketball 7 Tue Nov 19, 2002 02:28am
Delay after TO physicsref Basketball 26 Thu Dec 06, 2001 09:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1