The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 02:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by oc

How about this scenario:
-Team A control frontcourt
-A1 last touches ball in frontcourt
-ball goes backcourt
-ball comes back to frontcourt (backspin, hits official, ...) without touching any player. (ball clearly has frontcourt status)
A1 touches the ball.

Backcourt violation?
If you evaluate this play with the 4 criteria rainmaker posted for ya, you will conclude that this is a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 07:29am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If you evaluate this play with the 4 criteria rainmaker posted for ya, you will conclude that this is a backcourt violation.
Why??? A1 never touched the ball while it had backcourt status, so how could it be called a backcourt violation?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 07:34am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Why??? A1 never touched the ball while it had backcourt status, so how could it be called a backcourt violation?
Does it matter where A1 touches the ball after it went into the back court, as per R9-1?

If A1, who was completely in the front-court, dribbled on the center line, and the dribble then hit A1 who was still completely in the front court, is that legal also?

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Sep 28, 2006 at 07:37am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 07:48am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Does it matter where A1 touches the ball after it went into the back court, as per R9-1?

If A1, who was completely in the front-court, dribbled on the center line, and the dribble then hit A1 who was still completely in the front court, is that legal also?
Good point. Guess the season is fast approaching and it is time to start doing some reading.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 09:53am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Good point. Guess the season is fast approaching and it is time to start doing some reading.
Know what? Some of these calls are a heckuva lot easier when you can actually see them in a game rather than read about them. Seriously. It's like the jump stop- pivot- travel questions that they throw on the exam every year. For me, it's easier to call those in a game than try to figure out the exam question.

You'd never miss that backcourt one in real life.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
In the posted scenario, once the ball returns to the frontcourt without being touched in the backcourt or by team B, the ball gains frontcourt status and is retrieved by A1. Backcourt violation?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukealex
In the posted scenario, once the ball returns to the frontcourt without being touched in the backcourt or by team B, the ball gains frontcourt status and is retrieved by A1. Backcourt violation?
Yes -- all the requirements were met.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Yes, Luke. Search your feelings. You know it to be true!

Sorry!

In order to be a violation, the team in control has to be the last to touch it before it goes into the backcourt and then the first to touch it after it has been in the backcourt. There's no requirement that they touch it while it's in the backcourt.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 07:19pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Does it matter where A1 touches the ball after it went into the back court, as per R9-1?

If A1, who was completely in the front-court, dribbled on the center line, and the dribble then hit A1 who was still completely in the front court, is that legal also?
No, but in my situation the ball clearly gets frontcourt status before being touched. Although it appeared to meet the standards for backcourt according to the letter of the rule-that answer didn't feel right to me. I am not going to argue though. If you, Chuck, and BktBallRef all think it is a violation I will just sit back eat some popcorn and let someone else hash out a losing battle.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
In reply to JR:
Quote:
Originally Posted by oc
No, but in my situation the ball clearly gets frontcourt status before being touched. Although it appeared to meet the standards for backcourt according to the letter of the rule-that answer didn't feel right to me. I am not going to argue though. If you, Chuck, and BktBallRef all think it is a violation I will just sit back eat some popcorn and let someone else hash out a losing battle.
Sure, fine, just forget about the guy who gave the original answer!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 09:29pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
In reply to JR:


Sure, fine, just forget about the guy who gave the original answer!
humble apologies. I should add nevadaref, rainmaker,...

If I give you some of my popcorn will you forgive me?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 29, 2006, 03:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by oc
humble apologies. I should add nevadaref, rainmaker,...

If I give you some of my popcorn will you forgive me?
Good thing I like popcorn.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt or no backcourt cmathews Basketball 6 Fri Feb 18, 2005 05:06pm
backcourt missinglink Basketball 13 Tue Dec 30, 2003 05:29pm
Backcourt?? Rock'nRef Basketball 6 Wed Jan 15, 2003 10:42pm
backcourt or not? timharris Basketball 2 Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:32pm
backcourt? BigDave Basketball 5 Mon Dec 09, 2002 01:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1