![]() |
backcourt
I've seen posted a few times a list of 4 or 5 requirements for a backcourt violation. Can someone repost it here please?
My best memory: team control frontcourt last touched by offense in frontcourt ball goes to backcourt first touched by offense. How about this scenario: -Team A control frontcourt -A1 last touches ball in frontcourt -ball goes backcourt -ball comes back to frontcourt (backspin, hits official, ...) without touching any player. (ball clearly has frontcourt status) A1 touches the ball. Backcourt violation? |
Quote:
1) team control 2)front court status 3) team A last to touch before ball achieves backcourt status 4)team A first to touch after ball achieves backcourt status |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If A1, who was completely in the front-court, dribbled on the center line, and the dribble then hit A1 who was still completely in the front court, is that legal also? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
You'd never miss that backcourt one in real life. |
In the posted scenario, once the ball returns to the frontcourt without being touched in the backcourt or by team B, the ball gains frontcourt status and is retrieved by A1. Backcourt violation?
|
Quote:
|
Yes, Luke. Search your feelings. You know it to be true!
Sorry! In order to be a violation, the team in control has to be the last to touch it before it goes into the backcourt and then the first to touch it after it has been in the backcourt. There's no requirement that they touch it while it's in the backcourt. |
I feel a quiz coming on....maybe even a new one.
|
NOT a backcourt violation!!!!
This cannot be a backcourt violation. A1 never touched the ball while the ball had backcourt location. When the ball backs up and hit the ref in the frontcourt, then the ball has frontcourt location (rule 4,4,4). A1, in the frontcourt, grabs a ball that is in the frontcourt. Play on! End of story!
In Rule 9,9,1 you have to assume that the player in front court went into backcourt to retreive the ball and then you have a backcourt violation! |
Quote:
|
Hey KY, glad to have you pitch in here.
Quote:
Quote:
BTW, rule citations are given with dashes, not commas. Just for clarity (so we know if we're talking about a rule or a case play), your citation should look like 4-4-4. Quote:
|
why do I have a sudden desire to eat popcorn?
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44pm. |