The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
And I think that you're wrong that this play meets the definition of a fumble.

What's your point?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 05:26pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
And I think that you're wrong that this play meets the definition of a fumble.

What's your point?
I don't see the fumble relationship either, but then you guys were posting so early in the morning, I'm surprised you could find the monitor.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 05:43pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
And I think that you're wrong that this play meets the definition of a fumble.

What's your point?
My point is "Detente is lacking".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 11:41pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I'm sure that I am lacking detente, but I don't speak Italian so I don't really know what that means. I do think that it is significant that several people that I consider very knowledgeable cannot put their finger on a passage which says this is not a violation. I may be wrong in my interpretation, but now I at least feel that this was not a dumb question.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 04:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
This is an interrupted dribble not because of it deflecting off the dribbler but because of the next part...."or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler".

I do not agree with rainmaker's statement ...
Quote:
If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.
The mere fact that it touches someone else does not end player control. The new dribble is warranted only if it player control itself is lost. The dribble does not end merely by the ball touching an opponent...the opponent must do more than be touched by the ball...they must bat it, grab it, etc. It means absolutely if it brushes the defenders leg as the dribbler goes by such that the dribble is unaffected.


The rule (from an older book) about when a player can dribble again.
A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he or she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 . . . A try for field goal.
ART. 2 . . . A bat by an opponent.
ART. 3 . . . A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.

Taken literally, you could read this to say that a player could not dribble at any point in the game after an interrupted dribble until they once again held the ball and lost control by one of the above actions.

However, by common convention (i.e., in determining whether a bounced ball that goes to a teammate is a pass or a dribble), a ball that goes to another player is assumed to be a pass, even if the intent was otherwise.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
This is an interrupted dribble not because of it deflecting off the dribbler but because of the next part...."or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler".

I do not agree with rainmaker's statement ...


The mere fact that it touches someone else does not end player control. The new dribble is warranted only if it player control itself is lost. The dribble does not end merely by the ball touching an opponent...the opponent must do more than be touched by the ball...they must bat it, grab it, etc. It means absolutely if it brushes the defenders leg as the dribbler goes by such that the dribble is unaffected.




The rule (from an older book) about when a player can dribble again.
A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he or she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 . . . A try for field goal.
ART. 2 . . . A bat by an opponent.
ART. 3 . . . A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.
Taken literally, you could read this to say that a player could not dribble at any point in the game after an interrupted dribble until they once again held the ball and lost control by one of the above actions.

However, by common convention (i.e., in determining whether a bounced ball that goes to a teammate is a pass or a dribble), a ball that goes to another player is assumed to be a pass, even if the intent was otherwise.

Agreed.

9-5-3 must be different in some of your books than it is in mine. My book reads:

A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.

Sequence:
Dribble
Dribble ends
Fumble or pass deflected by an opponent
Recovery by A1
Dribble again legally

The rule refers to a dribble that has ended and a pass or fumble is THEN touched by an opponent. A1 can retrieve the ball and dribble again. You can't fumble a ball while dribbling it.

Touching B1's foot does NOT end the dribble. Touching B1's foot does NOT constitue a bat. If someone thinks so, I would really like to read the rule. (I'll be happy to point out the definition of a bat if anyone can't find it. )

Bottom line JAR, if he picks the ball up and ends again, "Double Dribble."
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Fri Sep 15, 2006 at 09:35am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 09:43am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Tony agrees with me. My existence is now somehow justified. Thanks to all for your attention to this matter.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Fri Sep 15, 2006 at 09:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Tony agrees with me. My existence is now somehow justified. Thanks to all for your attention to this matter.
So my support for your position way back on page one of this thread did nothing for you? I'm so hurt.

All we can conclude at this time is that if A1's action is judged by the official to be a pass or a fumble (which then touches another player) he may dribble a second time. If whatever he does with the ball isn't a pass or a fumble, then this would result in a double dribble violation.

JR thinks that the original play is a fumble. I don't.
Some others have stated that it qualifies as a pass. I don't think so.

However, the play rainmaker asked about in which A1 is trapped after using his dribble and therefore throws or bounces the ball off an opponent does meet the definition of a pass.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 12:53pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef

9-5-3 must be different in some of your books than it is in mine. My book reads:

A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended unless it is after he/she has lost control because of
A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.

Sequence:
Dribble
Dribble ends
Fumble or pass deflected by an opponent
Recovery by A1
Dribble again legally

Yup, that's what 9-5-3 reads in my book too.

Sequence
Dribble
Fumble deflected by an opponent
Dribble ends
Recovery by A1
Dribble again legally

Your sequence is wrong and self-serving. The fumble touched by an opponent ended the dribble. The dribble did not end before the touching. That's why it's legal for A1 to dribble again. That's why I still disagree.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, that's what 9-5-3 reads in my book too.

Sequence
Dribble
Fumble deflected by an opponent
Dribble ends
Recovery by A1
Dribble again legally

Your sequence is wrong and self-serving. The fumble touched by an opponent ended the dribble. The dribble did not end before the touching. That's why it's legal for A1 to dribble again. That's why I still disagree.
Self serving? LOL!

Please explain to me how a dribbler can fumble the ball.

Only a player that is holding the ball can fumble.

There is no fumble when a ball is dribbled off the opponent's foot or any other time a ball is being dribbled.

This maybe the worst argument you have ever made on these boards.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 06:05am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
I do think that it is significant that several people that I consider very knowledgeable cannot put their finger on a passage which says this is not a violation.
And, conversely, no one can definitively put their finger on a passage that says it is a violation.

All I can tell you from my own experience is that this has not been called a violation by anyone, as far as I know, since the beginning of time. Iow, the expected call is a "no call", and that is what is generally taught. Note the words "my own experience" though. That's the variable.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 06:35am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
And, conversely, no one can definitively put their finger on a passage that says it is a violation.

All I can tell you from my own experience is that this has not been called a violation by anyone, as far as I know, since the beginning of time. Iow, the expected call is a "no call", and that is what is generally taught. Note the words "my own experience" though. That's the variable.
The expected call is a "no call" ?
Agreed.
The Rule book and Case book obviously "no-called" it, too.
mick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travel, Illegal Dribble, or No Violation sportmagic Basketball 12 Fri Mar 10, 2006 05:22pm
Illegal start of a dribble? RefLarry Basketball 20 Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:57pm
illegal dribble elecref Basketball 22 Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm
carry/illegal dribble cowbyfan1 Basketball 37 Thu Dec 04, 2003 09:08am
Illegal Dribble huskyz Basketball 20 Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1