![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Did anyone read the post that I already made in this thread?
I cited the relevant rules therein. This seems ridiculous, but according to the rules AS WRITTEN, the play described in the original post is a double dribble violation. The NFHS needs to fix this! It seems to be a gap in the current rules. I have never called this a violation before because I have never closely examined the legality of the play. Which body part of the defender the dribble strikes definitely matters as only a bat WITH THE HAND ends the dribble and permits a new one by the original dribbler. Why? Because that's what the rules book specifies. 9-5-3, which Mick and JR are using to justify the legality of the play, only applies to a PASS or a FUMBLE. It says so right there in black and white. In this situation the ball certainly is NOT passed, and it doesn't seem to meet the rules book definition of a fumble either. Therefore, I don't believe that this rule is applicable. Rainmaker, Keep searching, if you find anything in addition to what I have already posted, please let us know! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
mick |
|
|||
|
I'm sure that I am lacking detente, but I don't speak Italian
so I don't really know what that means. I do think that it is significant that several people that I consider very knowledgeable cannot put their finger on a passage which says this is not a violation. I may be wrong in my interpretation, but now I at least feel that this was not a dumb question.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
This is an interrupted dribble not because of it deflecting off the dribbler but because of the next part...."or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler".
I do not agree with rainmaker's statement ... Quote:
Taken literally, you could read this to say that a player could not dribble at any point in the game after an interrupted dribble until they once again held the ball and lost control by one of the above actions. However, by common convention (i.e., in determining whether a bounced ball that goes to a teammate is a pass or a dribble), a ball that goes to another player is assumed to be a pass, even if the intent was otherwise.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Agreed. 9-5-3 must be different in some of your books than it is in mine. My book reads: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. Sequence: Dribble Dribble ends Fumble or pass deflected by an opponent Recovery by A1 Dribble again legally The rule refers to a dribble that has ended and a pass or fumble is THEN touched by an opponent. A1 can retrieve the ball and dribble again. You can't fumble a ball while dribbling it. Touching B1's foot does NOT end the dribble. Touching B1's foot does NOT constitue a bat. If someone thinks so, I would really like to read the rule. (I'll be happy to point out the definition of a bat if anyone can't find it. ) Bottom line JAR, if he picks the ball up and ends again, "Double Dribble."
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Fri Sep 15, 2006 at 09:35am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
All I can tell you from my own experience is that this has not been called a violation by anyone, as far as I know, since the beginning of time. Iow, the expected call is a "no call", and that is what is generally taught. Note the words "my own experience" though. That's the variable. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Agreed. The Rule book and Case book obviously "no-called" it, too. mick |
|
|||
|
Oh, my !
Quote:
I know they have read the book, and admittedly never called a violation for the original case, except seemingly one time. I wonder how the rule changed using the same words. mick |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Travel, Illegal Dribble, or No Violation | sportmagic | Basketball | 12 | Fri Mar 10, 2006 05:22pm |
| Illegal start of a dribble? | RefLarry | Basketball | 20 | Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:57pm |
| illegal dribble | elecref | Basketball | 22 | Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm |
| carry/illegal dribble | cowbyfan1 | Basketball | 37 | Thu Dec 04, 2003 09:08am |
| Illegal Dribble | huskyz | Basketball | 20 | Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:30pm |