The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Question Did I get this right?

This weekend - AAU Boys 15U invitational. My partner calls a blocking foul on a missed shot attempt and is reporting the foul. The defender believes he has been unfairly penalized and loses his composure. I gave him a few seconds to get his act together, and when he can't, I charge him with a technical foul.

My partner starts to administer the shots - We shoot the first one (which misses) and he realizes the blocking foul shots should come first, but the wrong shooter has taken the shot thinking the technical would be shot first.

I cancel the free throw and tell the coaches we have a correctable error as the wrong shooter has taken the shot, and even if he had made it, it would have been canceled anyway. (within the allowable time frame of course)

We then proceed to shoot the shots in the correct order and award the ball out of bounds to the offended team.

My question is - Would you have done it any differently? Other than letting it happen in the first place, did we do everything by the rule book?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1