View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 08:14pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dribble
I disagree with Jurassic...rules 10-1-b and c state that "Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in: b) Awarding an unmerited free throw c) Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw."

Further, 10-4 states, "If the error is a free throw by the wrong player...or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and all activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls shall be canceled."

Thus, since you must administer the FTs in the order the fouls occurred, then ONLY A1 is permitted to shoot the fouls for the missed FG attempt. Then any player on team A can shoot the technical FTs. The first attempt was both unmerited at the time and the wrong player attempted the FT.

I don't know how you could justify separating the technical FTs. Please provide a rule reference if I'm wrong. Thanks.

And yes, other than avoiding the situation all together, I think you handled the error correctly.
What rule book are you using? In the NFHS rulebook, rule 10 relates to technical fouls. Rule 2-10 relates to correctable errors.

Now... you tell me.... if a player shoots a technical free throw out-of-order, what correctible error has been committed under rule 2-10-1?
- Did the team not get the first FT for the technical foul that they should have? Yes, they sureasheckdid. Can't use 2-10-1(a) then...
- Was an unmerited FT awarded? Nope, the first FT that was taken for the "T" certainly was merited. Can't use rule 2-10-1(b) either....
- Did a wrong player take the first FT for the technical foul? Nope, any player can shoot the FT's for a "T". There goes 2-10-1(c) out the door too....
- Did they attempt a FT at the wrong basket? Uh, no. Bye-bye rule 2-10-1(d). That one doesn't apply.
- Did anyone erroneously count or cancel a score? Not as far as I can see. That takes care of rule 2-10-1(e).

That's all the correctable errors that there are, Dribble, i.e. the 5 listed under rule 2-10-1. Shooting free throws out-of-order isn't a correctable error per se. If all 4 FT's had been shot out-of-order, you cannot go back and re-shoot them. There is nothing in the rules that will allow you to do that.

And if you still don't believe me, read casebook play 8.7SitB. That might just change your mind.
Reply With Quote