View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 10:06pm
Dribble Dribble is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 231
Sorry, I accidentally omitted the "2" before my rule reference...I've made the edit...

Casebook play 8.7b doesn't apply because all the FTs haven't been administered as per that case. Thus, the case you present isn't applicable. The official caught himself following only one free throw that wasn't merited yet at that point in the game.

I think we can argue the wording of the correctable errors in this situation. I argue that the 1st correctable error situation (a) also applies in addition to what I posted above because you failed to award a merited free throw, which was the one for the foul on the FG try.

You still haven't provided a reference that allows you to interrupt the sequence of FTs. i.e. shoot the 1st technical FT, then the two FTs for the shooting foul, followed by the 2nd T. That makes no sense to me at all.
Reply With Quote