View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 05:33pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
My partner starts to administer the shots - We shoot the first one (which misses) and he realizes the blocking foul shots should come first, but the wrong shooter has taken the shot thinking the technical would be shot first.
If you just administered the free-throws in the wrong order, then you do not have a correctible error that's fixable,by rule. The first free-throw was merited; it was just shot in the wrong order. You can correct the order in which the FT's are shot, but there is no rule that will allow you to cancel the FT that has been already taken.

The first FT that was missed counts as a legitimate attempt towards the FT's awarded for the technical foul. You now put the original, fouled player on the line for his 2 warranted FT's. You follow those 2 FT's by administering the second technical foul FT to any opposing player.....and you then follow that by the throw-in at center naturally.
Reply With Quote