![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
This weekend - AAU Boys 15U invitational. My partner calls a blocking foul on a missed shot attempt and is reporting the foul. The defender believes he has been unfairly penalized and loses his composure. I gave him a few seconds to get his act together, and when he can't, I charge him with a technical foul.
My partner starts to administer the shots - We shoot the first one (which misses) and he realizes the blocking foul shots should come first, but the wrong shooter has taken the shot thinking the technical would be shot first. I cancel the free throw and tell the coaches we have a correctable error as the wrong shooter has taken the shot, and even if he had made it, it would have been canceled anyway. (within the allowable time frame of course) We then proceed to shoot the shots in the correct order and award the ball out of bounds to the offended team. My question is - Would you have done it any differently? Other than letting it happen in the first place, did we do everything by the rule book?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds. |
|
|||
Quote:
The first FT that was missed counts as a legitimate attempt towards the FT's awarded for the technical foul. You now put the original, fouled player on the line for his 2 warranted FT's. You follow those 2 FT's by administering the second technical foul FT to any opposing player.....and you then follow that by the throw-in at center naturally. |
|
|||
Quote:
Further, 2-10-4 states, "If the error is a free throw by the wrong player...or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and all activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls shall be canceled." Thus, since you must administer the FTs in the order the fouls occurred, then ONLY A1 is permitted to shoot the fouls for the missed FG attempt. Then any player on team A can shoot the technical FTs. The first attempt was both unmerited at the time and the wrong player attempted the FT. I don't know how you could justify separating the technical FTs. Please provide a rule reference if I'm wrong. Thanks. And yes, other than avoiding the situation all together, I think you handled the error correctly. Last edited by Dribble; Mon May 15, 2006 at 09:57pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Now... you tell me.... if a player shoots a technical free throw out-of-order, what correctible error has been committed under rule 2-10-1? - Did the team not get the first FT for the technical foul that they should have? Yes, they sureasheckdid. Can't use 2-10-1(a) then... - Was an unmerited FT awarded? Nope, the first FT that was taken for the "T" certainly was merited. Can't use rule 2-10-1(b) either.... - Did a wrong player take the first FT for the technical foul? Nope, any player can shoot the FT's for a "T". There goes 2-10-1(c) out the door too.... - Did they attempt a FT at the wrong basket? Uh, no. Bye-bye rule 2-10-1(d). That one doesn't apply. - Did anyone erroneously count or cancel a score? Not as far as I can see. That takes care of rule 2-10-1(e). That's all the correctable errors that there are, Dribble, i.e. the 5 listed under rule 2-10-1. Shooting free throws out-of-order isn't a correctable error per se. If all 4 FT's had been shot out-of-order, you cannot go back and re-shoot them. There is nothing in the rules that will allow you to do that. And if you still don't believe me, read casebook play 8.7SitB. That might just change your mind. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Sorry, I accidentally omitted the "2" before my rule reference...I've made the edit...
Casebook play 8.7b doesn't apply because all the FTs haven't been administered as per that case. Thus, the case you present isn't applicable. The official caught himself following only one free throw that wasn't merited yet at that point in the game. I think we can argue the wording of the correctable errors in this situation. I argue that the 1st correctable error situation (a) also applies in addition to what I posted above because you failed to award a merited free throw, which was the one for the foul on the FG try. You still haven't provided a reference that allows you to interrupt the sequence of FTs. i.e. shoot the 1st technical FT, then the two FTs for the shooting foul, followed by the 2nd T. That makes no sense to me at all. |
|
|||
Quote:
Argue all you want. Let me know when you find some rules language to back up your argument. Until then....... ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|