Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If you just administered the free-throws in the wrong order, then you do not have a correctible error that's fixable,by rule. The first free-throw was merited; it was just shot in the wrong order. You can correct the order in which the FT's are shot, but there is no rule that will allow you to cancel the FT that has been already taken.
The first FT that was missed counts as a legitimate attempt towards the FT's awarded for the technical foul. You now put the original, fouled player on the line for his 2 warranted FT's. You follow those 2 FT's by administering the second technical foul FT to any opposing player.....and you then follow that by the throw-in at center naturally.
|
I disagree with Jurassic...rules 2-10-1b and c state that "Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in: b) Awarding an unmerited free throw c) Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw."
Further, 2-10-4 states, "If the error is a free throw by the wrong player...or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and all activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls shall be canceled."
Thus, since you must administer the FTs in the order the fouls occurred, then ONLY A1 is permitted to shoot the fouls for the missed FG attempt. Then any player on team A can shoot the technical FTs. The first attempt was both unmerited at the time and the wrong player attempted the FT.
I don't know how you could justify separating the technical FTs. Please provide a rule reference if I'm wrong. Thanks.
And yes, other than avoiding the situation all together, I think you handled the error correctly.