The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 30, 2006, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
The throw-in ended with the first tip, exception no longer in effect when possesion gained.
This is not quite right.

Under ncaa rules the throw-in ends not on the touch but when control is gained from the inbounds pass.

jbduke wrote:


"Maybe I didn't see the play correctly, but here's what I thought I saw: inbounds pass is tipped, but not controlled, in the FC by Duke's Monique Curry. She jumps to recover the tip, landing with one foot in the FC, then the other foot lands in the BC. Since there was no possession on the tip, doesn't this fall under the throw-in exception?"


On a throw-in or a jump ball this is legal, any player can take control in the air & land with 1 or both feet in the BC.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HR, missed base Jay R Baseball 18 Tue May 13, 2003 02:38pm
Missed base Dakota Softball 13 Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am
Missed base David Van Milligen Baseball 14 Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm
Missed 2 bases! Robert G Baseball 2 Tue May 15, 2001 10:39pm
Missed Base jclangley Baseball 10 Wed Apr 18, 2001 08:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1