The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
When the NCAA added the "retains the right to run the endline" rule a couple of years ago, they left out any reference to intentional and flagrant personal fouls. They dealt with that explicitly the following year. (See NCAA Rule 7-5.7.)

For double personal fouls, the NCAA doesn't use PoI, but explicitly says to give the ball back to the team in control at the designated spot nearest where the fouls occur. Since there's team control in NCAA during a throw-in, that's clear.

In the case of technical fouls, NCAA uses PoI. However, there is an Approved Ruling:

A.R. 13. The coach from Team Ais assessed a direct technical foul (b) during a throw-in;
RULING: Aplayer from Team B shall attempt the two free throws for the direct technical foul. In (b), the ball shall be put back into play at a designated spot for a throw-in, which, in this case, is the spot of the original throw-in.

That's pretty clear, too---the right to run the endline is lost.

Perhaps the NFHS will follow along these lines in the next year or two.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1