View Single Post
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 02:01pm
Lotto Lotto is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
When the NCAA added the "retains the right to run the endline" rule a couple of years ago, they left out any reference to intentional and flagrant personal fouls. They dealt with that explicitly the following year. (See NCAA Rule 7-5.7.)

For double personal fouls, the NCAA doesn't use PoI, but explicitly says to give the ball back to the team in control at the designated spot nearest where the fouls occur. Since there's team control in NCAA during a throw-in, that's clear.

In the case of technical fouls, NCAA uses PoI. However, there is an Approved Ruling:

A.R. 13. The coach from Team Ais assessed a direct technical foul (b) during a throw-in;
RULING: Aplayer from Team B shall attempt the two free throws for the direct technical foul. In (b), the ball shall be put back into play at a designated spot for a throw-in, which, in this case, is the spot of the original throw-in.

That's pretty clear, too---the right to run the endline is lost.

Perhaps the NFHS will follow along these lines in the next year or two.
Reply With Quote