That exactly counters 7-5-7, which states that the team only retains this right following common fouls.
Nevada,
With all due respect you keep putting the word "only" into 7-5-7 and it does not appear in the rule.
7-5-7 (in part) reads:
"A team retains this privilege (running the end line) if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line."
The word "only" is not found in that rule.
Double fouls are simply not addressed in rule 7-5-7, as such we follow the POI rules of double fouls.
Intentional and flagrant fouls can be differentiated because they involve free throws and NO provision of POI.
In general, in this forum, I think we hold so tightly to the letter of the law (rules) that we sometimes forget to look at the spirit of the law when applying rules to situations.
|