The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10
Question

After a made basket, team "A" is inbounding the basketball. A double foul is called. Can team "A" still run the baseline or does it become a spot through in, or does it go to the possesion arrow, or what?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
no possession arrow

team A would still have the ball and retain the baseline. we continue on in the game much as if nothing had happened when thos fouls occured and just play on.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10
Can you please tell me where in the book you come up with your answer.

Thanx
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
i dont

have my book on me -- but if im going by if a team with the baseline gets fouled before the throw in is completed and the throw in will on the baseline then they retain thr right to run baseline.

I dont see why because of a double foul going to POI would make that throw in a spot throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by kokayne
Can you please tell me where in the book you come up with your answer.

Thanx
That's actually an excellent question.

Rule 4-36 (new rule this year). When there is a double foul, you resume from the point of interruption.

Interesting though because you'd think that Team A would lose their rate to run the baseline due to A1 being involved in a foul. I don't think this case is specifically addressed for NFHS.

College refs... is it addressed in NCAA?

Z
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
The NFHS rule on running the endline is 7-5-7. "After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line. A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary line."

Note that the right to run the endline is retained after a common foul. A double foul is not a common foul. NFHS 4-19-2: "A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant nor intentional nor committed against a player trying or tapping for a field goal nor a part of a double, simultaneous or multiple foul."

So A does not retain the right to run the endline. However, as Z pointed out, you do go the POI (which does not, however, include running the endline).
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10
Works for me,

thanx
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 04:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
The NFHS rule on running the endline is 7-5-7. "After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line. A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary line."

Note that the right to run the endline is retained after a common foul. A double foul is not a common foul. NFHS 4-19-2: "A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant nor intentional nor committed against a player trying or tapping for a field goal nor a part of a double, simultaneous or multiple foul."

So A does not retain the right to run the endline. However, as Z pointed out, you do go the POI (which does not, however, include running the endline).
I agree with the ruling presented above. By being involved in the double foul, A1 cost his team the right to run. I don't know if that is fair or not since both teams fouled and it seems that Team A is being punished more by also losing the running privilege. Perhaps the NFHS should look at this now that we have POI. Under our current rules they lose the running since a double foul is certainly not a common foul.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 06:00am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Little twists like this keep me intrigued in rules!

My preference is that A keeps the endline. I guess I am a purest when I implement Point of Interruption.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Re: no possession arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by deecee
team A would still have the ball and retain the baseline. we continue on in the game much as if nothing had happened when thos fouls occured and just play on.
Remember their is no team control on throw-ins....
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,445
Re: Re: no possession arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by deecee
team A would still have the ball and retain the baseline. we continue on in the game much as if nothing had happened when thos fouls occured and just play on.
Remember their is no team control on throw-ins....
Correct, but so what?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Re: Re: Re: no possession arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by deecee
team A would still have the ball and retain the baseline. we continue on in the game much as if nothing had happened when thos fouls occured and just play on.
Remember their is no team control on throw-ins....
Correct, but so what?
I thought I read something about team control in the thread. My fault, still early.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Where's a moderator when you need one?!?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
I don't think the rule quoted by Back in the Saddle matters. We are returning to the POI so I say let A run the baseline.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Thumbs down

Team A does NOT retain the right to run the endline. The rule as BITS quoted above requires that when a COMMON FOUL is called on Team B, Team A will retain the right to run the endline. The new rule on POI does NOT supercede that.

[Edited by BktBallRef on Jan 21st, 2006 at 04:02 PM]
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1