The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 11, 2006, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by PAOfficial
What if they leave the floor (jump) and then fumble and ...

a) land, then catch the ball before it bounces
b) land, then pick up the ball after it lands.
It makes no difference. You can always recover a fumble.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 11, 2006, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 102
I saw something similar in a JV boy’s game. A1 stopped his dribble, he was attempting a pass up court to A2 and at the last second B1 jumped in front of him which caused him to adjust his pass. The pass went up high and over B1 head. A1 then ran around B1 and caught the pass. The official right on top of the play made no call. He later explained to the coach that this was a legal play. I had my rule book, but I could not find the rule on this play.
__________________
IT's up!! It's GOOOD !!!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 11, 2006, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref-X
I saw something similar in a JV boy’s game. A1 stopped his dribble, he was attempting a pass up court to A2 and at the last second B1 jumped in front of him which caused him to adjust his pass. The pass went up high and over B1 head. A1 then ran around B1 and caught the pass. The official right on top of the play made no call. He later explained to the coach that this was a legal play. I had my rule book, but I could not find the rule on this play.
I am not sure which one it is similar to, but this is not a fumble and is illegal, specifically illegal dribble.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 11, 2006, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally posted by SamIAm
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref-X
I saw something similar in a JV boy’s game. A1 stopped his dribble, he was attempting a pass up court to A2 and at the last second B1 jumped in front of him which caused him to adjust his pass. The pass went up high and over B1 head. A1 then ran around B1 and caught the pass. The official right on top of the play made no call. He later explained to the coach that this was a legal play. I had my rule book, but I could not find the rule on this play.
I am not sure which one it is similar to, but this is not a fumble and is illegal, specifically illegal dribble.
When I was this, the first thing that cam to mind was "travel".
__________________
IT's up!! It's GOOOD !!!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 11, 2006, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
I'll never forget the first time I saw that happen. I was T, and the point guard passed the ball to the shooting guard, who promptly left his spot. The point guard ran over and picked up the ball after a couple of bounces. It caught me totally by surprise. I sort of froze up, and the coach, who had been chippy all night (and of course, is right by me), starts yelling at me, "He passed the ball to himself!!! You can't do that!!!!" But the moment had passed. At which point, I said to the coach, "Yeah, I might have missed that one!" He was stunned. Then he says, "That's what I want to hear!"
So the moral of the story is, the coach just wants us to say we're wrong. I guess.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 08:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 219
BktBallRef,

I respectfully disagree. A1 dribbles and stops his dribble. B1 defends. A1 passes ball over B1's head and goes around him and catches it.

I call it a Travel based on this:

1. It's not a dribble. The ball hasn't hit the floor or backboard.

2. A1 has lifted his pivot foot. The Rule says that is permitting as long as A1 passes or Attempts prior to the pivot foot returning to the floor.

3. The definition of a Pass says it must be to another player - not yourself. So he doesn't conform to the Traveling Rule for a Pass.

4. It's not an Attempt. So he doesn't conform to the Traveling Rule for an attempt.

Conclusion: A1 is holding the ball after picking up and returning his pivot foot to the floor without conforming to any provisions of the Traveling Rule. I don't get it as an Illegal Dribble.

Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 08:43am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Another Variation of passing to oneself

Ok never thought I would see the rule book contradict itself. There must be reasonable explanation for it. NCAA rules.

A1 is dribbling the ball on a break-away. At around the free throw line, A1 legally stops his dribble, throws the ball against the backboard and follows the throw. A1 rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks.

This is legal as per rule 4-67-4 A.R. 44

To me it contradicts rule 4-18-4 A.R. 13

Anyone care to add. Of course you do.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Re: Another Variation of passing to oneself

Quote:
Originally posted by SmokeEater
Ok never thought I would see the rule book contradict itself. There must be reasonable explanation for it. NCAA rules.

A1 is dribbling the ball on a break-away. At around the free throw line, A1 legally stops his dribble, throws the ball against the backboard and follows the throw. A1 rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks.

This is legal as per rule 4-67-4 A.R. 44

To me it contradicts rule 4-18-4 A.R. 13

Anyone care to add. Of course you do.
AR 44 deals with throwing the ball off the TEAM's backboard -- legal play.

AR 13 deals with throwing the ball off the OPPONENT's backboard -- it's a dribble (and a violation in the specific play persented).
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 09:51am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
There Ya go 1 word makes all the difference. Thank You
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1