View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 08:56am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Re: Another Variation of passing to oneself

Quote:
Originally posted by SmokeEater
Ok never thought I would see the rule book contradict itself. There must be reasonable explanation for it. NCAA rules.

A1 is dribbling the ball on a break-away. At around the free throw line, A1 legally stops his dribble, throws the ball against the backboard and follows the throw. A1 rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks.

This is legal as per rule 4-67-4 A.R. 44

To me it contradicts rule 4-18-4 A.R. 13

Anyone care to add. Of course you do.
AR 44 deals with throwing the ball off the TEAM's backboard -- legal play.

AR 13 deals with throwing the ball off the OPPONENT's backboard -- it's a dribble (and a violation in the specific play persented).
Reply With Quote