BktBallRef,
I respectfully disagree. A1 dribbles and stops his dribble. B1 defends. A1 passes ball over B1's head and goes around him and catches it.
I call it a Travel based on this:
1. It's not a dribble. The ball hasn't hit the floor or backboard.
2. A1 has lifted his pivot foot. The Rule says that is permitting as long as A1 passes or Attempts prior to the pivot foot returning to the floor.
3. The definition of a Pass says it must be to another player - not yourself. So he doesn't conform to the Traveling Rule for a Pass.
4. It's not an Attempt. So he doesn't conform to the Traveling Rule for an attempt.
Conclusion: A1 is holding the ball after picking up and returning his pivot foot to the floor without conforming to any provisions of the Traveling Rule. I don't get it as an Illegal Dribble.
|