The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 02, 2006, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
For me, I'm still mulling over how action that takes place while a dribble is INTERRUPTED could be deemed to take place DURING the dribble. I'm really struggling with that. Is it all one big dribble or not?


Hmm.. try this play. A1 is dribbling from BC to FC. In order, the following happens:

1) A1's left foot hits the floor in the FC. (one "point")
2) The ball hits the floor in the FC. (two "points")
3) The ball bounces up off the floor and hits A1's left knee. (interrupted dribble)
4) The ball bounces to the BC.
5) A1 moves entirely to the BC and recovers the ball.

BC violation? I think not.

To help answer the question of "does it matter who touches the ball", apply the case where A1 (having dribbled) passes the ball to A2 who isn't looking, and A1 runs and recovers the ball. This becomes a dribble (and a violation) when A1 touches the ball.

Change the play slightly so A1 is standing in the BC and hasn't dribbled. He passes to A2 and the ball reaches the FC. A1, standing in the BC, recovers the ball. From the case play referenced above, we know it's a dribble. Thus, it isn't a BC violation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1