View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2006, 08:10pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Therefore, could you clarify a few things for me?
1. Is an interrupted dribble considered part of a player's dribble even though there is no player control?
2. When the ball bounces in the frontcourt during the interrupted dribble does it obtain frontcourt status?
3. Why specifically do you rule differently for part 3? When does the ball obtain frontcourt status during this play?
1. Yes. It's an interrupted dribble, not an ended dribble.
2. Not as far as the dribbler is concerned. If A2 grabs the ball instead of continuing the dribble, you have a violation. But he doesn't. He continues dribbling. The rule says there's no FC status until all three points are across on the dribble.
3. Because A3 is NOT the dribbler. When A3 touches the ball, it has FC status and he's in the BC, so it's a violation. The rule doesn't allow A3 to start a dribble. It only allows A2 to continue the original dribble.
I originally was thinking this would be a violation but you sure have me thinking...

What if A2 never again touched the ball? What happens to the 10 count? If another player touches the ball, it wasn't a dribble after all and was in the frontcourt all along.

Regarding your statement about A2 grabbing the ball vs continuing the dribbler. Why would it matter. The dribble still hasn't ended until he grabs it....it seems as if both would have the same conclusion.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote