Quote:
Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
By rule touching a ball during rebounding action is not the same as a tap which we know is treated as the same as a try for goal in all cases other than the 3/10 of a second situation.
If the covering official didn't consider the offensive player's touching to be a tap (attempt to score), then the ball would still become dead when time expired.
|
JR,
Although I understand the rule references, this would mean that there is no possibility that the defense can score an "own goal", and there are provisions made for that in the rules. Rule 5.2.3 states "... if a player scores a field goal in the opponent's basket, it is not credited to a player, but it is indicated as a footnote." This would state to me that there IS the possibility for Team B to 'score' a basket while going for a defensive rebound. In the situation described above, this would be a made basket for team A as the player from B was "trying" to secure the rebound, but never actually had control. The ball never hit the floor or any other object to cause the ball to be dead before it passed thru the cylinder. Therefore, count two points for team A.
|
You misunderstand the rule references.
A goal is scored when a "live" ball passes through the goal.
As long as the ball is live, either team can cause a goal to be scored in either basket....it doesn't matter how it got there or what the intent was (except for a throwin). Scoring a goal, however, is NOT the same as a try. A "try" is an attempt to throw the ball into your own goal (not your opponents).
Normally, the ball becomes dead when the horn sounds. The ball remains live after the horn sounds if the ball has been released on a "try". Since a try is defined to be at your own goal, the defensive action that causes the ball to go through the goal is not a try and the ball becomes dead at the horn. Contact with the floor or other object is not a factor.