Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Was there any question as to who actually touched it?
|
That still may not matter. Even if the offense was the last to touch the ball, the goal still shouldn't count.
By rule touching a ball during rebounding action is not the same as a tap which we know is treated as the same as a try for goal in all cases other than the 3/10 of a second situation.
If the covering official didn't consider the offensive player's touching to be a tap (attempt to score), then the ball would still become dead when time expired.
|
If the ball is above the rim and just inches outside the cylinder when an offensive player touches the ball such that it goes back towards the basket, I'm going to consider that a tap without exception. 2 point if it goes in.