Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
By rule touching a ball during rebounding action is not the same as a tap which we know is treated as the same as a try for goal in all cases other than the 3/10 of a second situation.
If the covering official didn't consider the offensive player's touching to be a tap (attempt to score), then the ball would still become dead when time expired.
|
Nevada, this would be a tough sell, because I have seen, as I'm sure you have, several plays where a player is going up simply to retrieve an offensive rebound, and accidently knocks the ball into the basket. Everyone in the gym can see the player wasn't actually trying to shoot/tip/tap the ball in, but it does go in and the basket counts. Shouldn't matter if it is the first play of the game or the last.
JR,
Although I understand the rule references, this would mean that there is no possibility that the defense can score an "own goal", and there are provisions made for that in the rules. Rule 5.2.3 states "... if a player scores a field goal in the opponent's basket, it is not credited to a player, but it is indicated as a footnote." This would state to me that there
IS the possibility for Team B to 'score' a basket while going for a defensive rebound. In the situation described above, this would be a made basket for team A as the player from B was "trying" to secure the rebound, but never actually had control. The ball never hit the floor or any other object to cause the ball to be dead before it passed thru the cylinder. Therefore, count two points for team A.
[Edited by SeanFitzRef on Nov 16th, 2005 at 04:31 PM]