Thread: Basket Good?
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2005, 04:52pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
[/B]

Although I understand the rule references, this would mean that there is no possibility that the defense can score an "own goal", and there are provisions made for that in the rules. Rule 5.2.3 states "... if a player scores a field goal in the opponent's basket, it is not credited to a player, but it is indicated as a footnote." This would state to me that there IS the possibility for Team B to 'score' a basket while going for a defensive rebound. In the situation described above, this would be a made basket for team A as the player from B was "trying" to secure the rebound, but never actually had control. >The ball never hit the floor or any other object to cause the ball to be dead before it passed thru the cylinder. Therefore, count two points for team A.

[/B][/QUOTE]Nope, the rules references I gave don't tell you that you can't score an "own goal". They do tell you that you can't score an "own goal" with a dead ball though. Big difference. The case play that you are referring to isn't applicable because in that case play the ball remained live until it went through the basket. Apples and oranges iow.

In the play we're talking about, the ball became dead before it passed through the basket (not cylinder) because (1) time expired for the quarter as per R6-7-6 and (2) it wasn't a try as defined in R4-41-2 and therefore wasn't covered under EXCEPTION a of R6-7-6. That's why you don't count 2 points for A.
Reply With Quote