The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2005, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
So if a player is allowed to land with both feet, he is certainly allowed to land with one foot only, provided that the other foot does not do anything funny.

Also if a player is allowed to jump when both feet on the floor, he is certainly allowed to jump when one foot on the floor, provided that the other foot behaves.

the key here is "to simultaneously land on both feet" only prohibits "to land one foot after the other", does not prohibits "to land on one foot only" at all, as long as the other foot does not land until the ball is gone.
I disagree with much of this. When I read "to simultaneously land on both feet," I read this as only covering the case where the player simultaneously lands on both feet. It does not (to my reading) say anything about a player landing on one foot. The key is the first provision of 4-66:

Art. 1.Traveling occurs when a player holding the ball moves a foot or both feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits described in this Rule.

situation D that you described above (basically a hop---a jump stop, but landing on one foot instead of both feet) is a travel.


I believe you have no problems with C, right? So what makes C a legal move?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1