View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2005, 02:49pm
ysong ysong is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
I'm not sure you caught this yet but from your original post part 1 is NOT a travel, as is described in later replies in the thread.

Part D is definitely a travel, as mick said, I'm wondering how this could actually happen, seems very awkward to me.
I believe both cases in my original post are travel. For part 1, NFHS 4-43-3(b) indicates that. Maybe you read the post too quick or my English played a trick on you.

Part D is very awkward to many. but it is in the repertoire of few less skilled players who have not mastered the left-hand layups. when the player lands on the "wrong" foot after catching a pass, he has to hop on this foot again to jump off it, because this is his "favorite" foot for layups.

Thanks.


I don't have my rulebook with me and since I can't look the rules up on the internet I don't have anything to back myself up. But I am sure this act is legal:

A player has an established pivot, which your situation does, lifts the pivot foot (other foot on the floor or not), lands on the other foot (or other foot is already on the floor), jumps off the other foot and passes or shoots (dribbling in this situation is a violation).

Also think about a jump shot, how would your situation be a travel and a jump shot not? A jump shot has the same basic things happening, pivot foot leaving floor etc.
NFHS 4-43-3(b) is:
. After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

so in a jump shot, both feet are lifted, but Neither foot is returned to the floor until ball is gone. So jump shoot is perfectly legal.

But in the "part 1 move", at the moment when both feet are off the floor, it becomes a jump. when the non-pivot foot back down before the ball is gone, it directly violates the above rule.

Quote:
For part D, to me it seems a little different but the same rule would apply, but in this case the pivot foot was lifted and returned to the floor, disregarding whether or not the other foot touched the floor, would make part D a travel.
As I quoted in my previous post, NCAA 4-66 allows 2-beat jump stop while moving. on the second beat, the pivot foot does return to the floor, but it is still legal. It is an exception to the traditional wisdom "pivot foot can not back down".

Thanks.

Reply With Quote