View Single Post
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2005, 03:35pm
ysong ysong is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
So if a player is allowed to land with both feet, he is certainly allowed to land with one foot only, provided that the other foot does not do anything funny.

Also if a player is allowed to jump when both feet on the floor, he is certainly allowed to jump when one foot on the floor, provided that the other foot behaves.

the key here is "to simultaneously land on both feet" only prohibits "to land one foot after the other", does not prohibits "to land on one foot only" at all, as long as the other foot does not land until the ball is gone.
I disagree with much of this. When I read "to simultaneously land on both feet," I read this as only covering the case where the player simultaneously lands on both feet. It does not (to my reading) say anything about a player landing on one foot. The key is the first provision of 4-66:

Art. 1.Traveling occurs when a player holding the ball moves a foot or both feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits described in this Rule.

situation D that you described above (basically a hop---a jump stop, but landing on one foot instead of both feet) is a travel.


I believe you have no problems with C, right? So what makes C a legal move?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote