The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
I think it does fall under 2.10e, erroneously counting or canceling a score, at least in NCAA. There's some evidence for this in the rulebook:
Quote:
Appendix III, Section 6. Use of Replay Television Equipment

Officials may use courtside replay equipment, videotape or television monitoring to:

12. Correct an error when a request is made from a player, coach or official. (Note: If the player or coach requests a review under correctable errors 2-10.c, .d or .e, his or her team shall be assessed a timeout if he or she is incorrect, but shall not be assessed a timeout if he or she is correct.)

c. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

1. Determine if a try for goal is a successful two- or three-point attempt;
To me, this says that if an official signals a two-point goal and the coach thinks it was a three, the coach can request that the play be reviewed under 2-10.e. I think that's what the Baylor coach was doing.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1