View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 01:04pm
Lotto Lotto is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
I think it does fall under 2.10e, erroneously counting or canceling a score, at least in NCAA. There's some evidence for this in the rulebook:
Quote:
Appendix III, Section 6. Use of Replay Television Equipment

Officials may use courtside replay equipment, videotape or television monitoring to:

12. Correct an error when a request is made from a player, coach or official. (Note: If the player or coach requests a review under correctable errors 2-10.c, .d or .e, his or her team shall be assessed a timeout if he or she is incorrect, but shall not be assessed a timeout if he or she is correct.)

c. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

1. Determine if a try for goal is a successful two- or three-point attempt;
To me, this says that if an official signals a two-point goal and the coach thinks it was a three, the coach can request that the play be reviewed under 2-10.e. I think that's what the Baylor coach was doing.
Reply With Quote