Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
I'm pretty sure that that was the reason why play was stopped. After the shot, the Baylor coach was shown gesticulating wildly with three fingers in the air. She then went up and was talking to Melissa Barlow, who then blew her whistle and conferred. Play was then resumed from PoI.
If that's what was going on, then this is not the way things should have been handled, however. The Baylor coach should have informed the table about her question. At the next dead ball, the table should blow the horn and inform the officials of the coach's request. If there turns out to be no error (as in this case), then Baylor would be charged a timeout. If there is an error, then no timeout is charged.
|
Did the refs signal a 3? If not, I don't think this is fixable. A scoretable error is, (I mean, if they wrote in 2 instead of 3), but not under 2-10. Is the correctable error rule different in college than hs? In high school, this isn't a correctable error. The coach can't go to the table for this, and there's no "charged or not-charged a time-out". But it is fixable up to the time the book is signed off, and the refs are off the court. ... if the refs had signalled a 3. If they thought it was a 2, then it's just too bad for that team.
It would definitely be wrong in hs to stop play, especially when the opponent has the ball! I guess even the best refs (and Melissa Barlow is definitely one of the best!!) can make mistakes once in a while.
|
rainmaker, this is a correctable error in HS.
Officials indicating a 2 (by lack of a signal) and it should have been a 3 is no different than indicating a 3 when it should be a 2. It's erronesouly counting a score. This is correctable until the next dead ball becomes live. Of course, the officials can't use any media for determining it...but only consulting each other. Perhaps they just goofed and didn't signal.
The scorebook error is when the official indicates 2 and the scorer records 3 (and vice versa)...fixable until the final score is approved.
I'm for stopping play ASAP for a potential correctable error (but not when either team is actively attacking). If the other team is walking it up the court or passing back and forth 30' from the basket....I'll stop the play. The longer you delay once you know there might be an error, the less likely you'll be able to get it right. It might be 5 minutes before there is another dead ball.