Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
I'm pretty sure that that was the reason why play was stopped. After the shot, the Baylor coach was shown gesticulating wildly with three fingers in the air. She then went up and was talking to Melissa Barlow, who then blew her whistle and conferred. Play was then resumed from PoI.
If that's what was going on, then this is not the way things should have been handled, however. The Baylor coach should have informed the table about her question. At the next dead ball, the table should blow the horn and inform the officials of the coach's request. If there turns out to be no error (as in this case), then Baylor would be charged a timeout. If there is an error, then no timeout is charged.
|
Did the refs signal a 3? If not, I don't think this is fixable. A scoretable error is, (I mean, if they wrote in 2 instead of 3), but not under 2-10. Is the correctable error rule different in college than hs? In high school, this isn't a correctable error. The coach can't go to the table for this, and there's no "charged or not-charged a time-out". But it is fixable up to the time the book is signed off, and the refs are off the court. ... if the refs had signalled a 3. If they thought it was a 2, then it's just too bad for that team.
It would definitely be wrong in hs to stop play, especially when the opponent has the ball! I guess even the best refs (and Melissa Barlow is definitely one of the best!!) can make mistakes once in a while.