View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2005, 01:49am
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Okay, I went back and watched the play, the whistle, the whole thing again. For those who missed it, here's the short version.

Baylor player A1 had the ball at the top of the arc. She stepped in about two steps, so she was near the free-throw line. Shot the ball, hit. MSU takes it out, comes down the floor, they're setting up, ball is right by the Baylor coach, and so is Melissa Barlow, the official at C. You can see Barlow lean back, then turn a little and listen to the coach, then she blows her whistle, and turns completely to the coach. They talk briefly. Then Lisa Mattingly comes over (I assume she's crew chief), and Barlow steps over to her. They talk briefly, then Barlow goes back to the Baylor coach, they talk briefly, Mattingly bounces the ball to Barlow, and that's that. Okay, so that wasn't the short version.

My questions are 1) by NCAA rules, was that handled correctly? I'm guessing not. Can someone enlighten me about how it should have been?

1-a) I don't see how the coach could have thought it was a 3. For those who saw the play, do you think she was just working the ref? How could she have made such a glaring mis-perception?

2) By Fed rules, was that handled correctly? I know not. This is not a correctable error, because there was no error. Besides it's never okay to stop the game like that, is it?

If the coach thought it was an error, she can go to the table, and they can buzz at the next dead ball. But since there was no error, the coach will then be charged a time-out.
Reply With Quote