The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2004, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by OverAndBack
On-the-court questions[*]On three seconds - this weekend, Team A would come down and set up on offense, with their center right at the free throw line, with his back to the basket and his heels across the free throw line in the paint. He would camp there and hardly move - is this three seconds? I asked my partner (very experienced) who said the three-second area for purposes of that rule doesn't start until farther down in the key. I'm confused about that one, so any help there would be appreciated.
No, don't call this. In effect your partner's right.
[/B]
Technically the scenario he presented does indeed qualify for the 3-second violation if any part of the kid's foot is over the paint for more than 3 seconds (9-7). There is no magic line in the paint where you call this or don't call it. The clarification for where the foot needs to be and where the boundaries are is very clear in the rule book. It's purely an advantage/disadvantage thing, unless you always call it by the book.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1