View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2004, 01:40pm
Smitty Smitty is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by OverAndBack
On-the-court questions[*]On three seconds - this weekend, Team A would come down and set up on offense, with their center right at the free throw line, with his back to the basket and his heels across the free throw line in the paint. He would camp there and hardly move - is this three seconds? I asked my partner (very experienced) who said the three-second area for purposes of that rule doesn't start until farther down in the key. I'm confused about that one, so any help there would be appreciated.
No, don't call this. In effect your partner's right.
[/B]
Technically the scenario he presented does indeed qualify for the 3-second violation if any part of the kid's foot is over the paint for more than 3 seconds (9-7). There is no magic line in the paint where you call this or don't call it. The clarification for where the foot needs to be and where the boundaries are is very clear in the rule book. It's purely an advantage/disadvantage thing, unless you always call it by the book.
Reply With Quote