Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by Smitty 
 
	Technically the scenario he presented does indeed qualify for the 3-second violation if any part of the kid's foot is over the paint for more than 3 seconds (9-7).  There is no magic line in the paint where you call this or don't call it.  The clarification for where the foot needs to be and where the boundaries are is very clear in the rule book.  It's purely an advantage/disadvantage thing, unless you always call it by the book.   [/B]Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by Dan_ref 
 
	No, don't call this.  In effect your partner's right.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by OverAndBack On-the-court questions[*]On three seconds - this weekend, Team A would come down and set up on offense, with their center right at the free throw line, with his back to the basket and his heels across the free throw line in the paint. He would camp there and hardly move - is this three seconds? I asked my partner (very experienced) who said the three-second area for purposes of that rule doesn't start until farther down in the key. I'm confused about that one, so any help there would be appreciated.
 |  |  | 
	
 Smitty
In effect, you have said the same thing as Dan.  If you are talking heels over the FT line, it doesn't create the huge advantage that the rule is trying to prevent.  Being 14.9 feet from the basket is not much of an advantage.  Trying to stay within 3 feet in the low block is a huge advantage.  Unless you can point out where this is creating a hugely unfair situation, this is one you ignore.