The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 16, 2022, 11:38pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
Who's ball should it have been?
When there is a dead ball contact technical, the team that got offended. The Coppin State player pushed the Norfolk State player, so NSU got the ball.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 16, 2022, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
When there is a dead ball contact technical, the team that got offended. The Coppin State player pushed the Norfolk State player, so NSU got the ball.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
I disagree on that, based on this paragraph in the section you mentioned:

RESUMPTION OF PLAY—For any technical foul(s), play shall resume at the
point of interruption using the procedures in Rule 7-3.2, including for a
single flagrant 2 technical foul or a single contact dead ball technical foul
(Art. 1.e through .k).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 16, 2022, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
I disagree on that, based on this paragraph in the section you mentioned:

RESUMPTION OF PLAY—For any technical foul(s), play shall resume at the
point of interruption using the procedures in Rule 7-3.2, including for a
single flagrant 2 technical foul or a single contact dead ball technical foul
(Art. 1.e through .k).
Also, disagree on shooting free throws, based on this:

h. When a double technical foul or any simultaneous foul occurs during
a stopped-clock period, all fouls shall be charged but no free throws
shall be awarded if the penalties are equal. Only the number of free
throws awarded shall be used to determine if the penalties are equal. If
the penalties are not equal, all free throws shall be administered. The
game shall resume at the point of interruption using the procedures
in Rule 7-3.2 unless one team has been awarded possession of the ball
as part of a penalty.


I've watched scores of college games this year. Saw several instances where one player is talking (taunting), the other player pushes him away. Never seen it not called double technical and go to POI.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 17, 2022, 12:20am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
Also, disagree on shooting free throws, based on this:



h. When a double technical foul or any simultaneous foul occurs during

a stopped-clock period, all fouls shall be charged but no free throws

shall be awarded if the penalties are equal. Only the number of free

throws awarded shall be used to determine if the penalties are equal. If

the penalties are not equal, all free throws shall be administered. The

game shall resume at the point of interruption using the procedures

in Rule 7-3.2 unless one team has been awarded possession of the ball

as part of a penalty.





I've watched scores of college games this year. Saw several instances where one player is talking (taunting), the other player pushes him away. Never seen it not called double technical and go to POI.
What you posted from the personal foul section and what I posted from the class A technical section are contradictory. So you may disagree, but there is something in the rulebook currently that allows for shooting free throws if one of the technical fouls is dead ball contact.

I guess Art Hyland needs to clean that up.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Mar 17, 2022 at 12:26am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 17, 2022, 06:19am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
I disagree on that, based on this paragraph in the section you mentioned:



RESUMPTION OF PLAY—For any technical foul(s), play shall resume at the

point of interruption using the procedures in Rule 7-3.2, including for a

single flagrant 2 technical foul or a single contact dead ball technical foul

(Art. 1.e through .k).
The rule book is wrong. The NCAA put out a correction at the beginning of the season.

Corrections to Rule Book: 1. Pages 96 and 97 under “Resumption of Play”- The book reads, “For any Technical fouls . . .” This is not correct. Replace “including” with “excluding” because after F2 technicals and Contact Dead Ball Technical’s (CDBT’s), play will resume with a throw-in from a spot nearest to where the foul occurred using Rule 7-3.2. Again, on Page 97 under “Resumption of Play”, replace “including” with “excluding”.. “a single F2 technical foul”.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 16, 2022, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Raymond give me a couple days...I'll get you an answer as to ball was put in at division line. Where you at the game??
__________________
Go ugly early, avoid the rush !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 17, 2022, 12:26am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multiple Sports View Post
Raymond give me a couple days...I'll get you an answer as to ball was put in at division line. Where you at the game??
No sir. Have never attended a MEAC tournament game. And since I'm retired now, I never will...LOL

I only attend games where I can get in for free.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 17, 2022, 01:18am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
I am not convinced this was a double T. It looks like it could have been easily two different Ts. Meaning one involved action and the other involved dead ball contact. That means you would two different events. And you can say what you have seen, but that does not mean it was right or that it has to always be a double T. The acts are not the same under the rules. One is taunting and the other is a dead ball contact technical foul that has a different penalty (despite the flopping).

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 17, 2022, 02:17am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
I went back and looked at this on ESPN Plus.

They gave the ball back to the Norfolk State at the division line and called a dead ball technical foul on Coppin State player for the push.

Now the broadcasters said it was a double technical, but you can see and hear the official report the information to the TV people and said it was a dead ball technical and that they were giving the ball to Norfolk State.

So that tells me that this was not a double technical, but two separate acts, which is why you shoot all the free throws. That being said, the ball should have gone to the end line, not the division line.

It took a long time to get to this conclusion as well. Seemed like there was either disagreement or not understanding of what was called. Because one of the officials was going to put the ball in play at the division line before they shot free thows. So they seemed to get to the right conclusion on the free throw, but not the placement of the ball on the throw-in. Both coaches were confused, mostly the Norfolk State coach.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 17, 2022, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I went back and looked at this on ESPN Plus.

They gave the ball back to the Norfolk State at the division line and called a dead ball technical foul on Coppin State player for the push.

Now the broadcasters said it was a double technical, but you can see and hear the official report the information to the TV people and said it was a dead ball technical and that they were giving the ball to Norfolk State.

So that tells me that this was not a double technical, but two separate acts, which is why you shoot all the free throws. That being said, the ball should have gone to the end line, not the division line.

It took a long time to get to this conclusion as well. Seemed like there was either disagreement or not understanding of what was called. Because one of the officials was going to put the ball in play at the division line before they shot free thows. So they seemed to get to the right conclusion on the free throw, but not the placement of the ball on the throw-in. Both coaches were confused, mostly the Norfolk State coach.

Peace
So, you think they adjudicated it as a false double foul?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 17, 2022, 02:04pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
So, you think they adjudicated it as a false double foul?
No. Both were dead ball acts. But a double foul is seen at approximately the same time. If there is a delay or enough of one, they could be two separate acts. That is the only way you shoot the free throws. Also when they put it at the division line, that is kind of a tell it was not a double foul when the acts took place on the end line. Maybe they just screwed it up, but they would have had to make that mistake on several fronts, not just one way.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub to shoot Technical Foul free throws BDevil15 Basketball 16 Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:39am
When Not To Shoot Free Throws? Mad Mike Basketball 5 Tue Nov 12, 2013 09:22am
How many free throws do you shoot? azatcher Basketball 6 Mon Dec 08, 2008 04:08pm
Shoot Free Throws?? MidMadness Basketball 7 Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:57pm
Can a sub shoot the technical free throws? OFoley Basketball 4 Mon Jan 24, 2000 11:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1