The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 55
Sub to shoot Technical Foul free throws

Hi Guys, obligatory I'm a coach not an official and I appreciate all that you guys do. I can not find my rulebook this morning so just want to come to the source. High School boys, player on opposing team receives a tech late in the game last night. I go to sub my best free throw shooter to shoot the free throws and official says I have to choose from someone who was on the floor at the time. It worked out great actually and one of my kids who rarely scores got to shoot them but am I just so tired that I'm totally wrong on this? Can't anyone on the bench or floor shoot those free throws?

Thanks for what you guys do and I apologize for myself and my fellow coaches, you guys do great things for kids.
__________________
Coach here trying to get better, not to blame or accuse anybody. Thanks for all you do for the game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDevil15 View Post
Hi Guys, obligatory I'm a coach not an official and I appreciate all that you guys do. I can not find my rulebook this morning so just want to come to the source. High School boys, player on opposing team receives a tech late in the game last night. I go to sub my best free throw shooter to shoot the free throws and official says I have to choose from someone who was on the floor at the time. It worked out great actually and one of my kids who rarely scores got to shoot them but am I just so tired that I'm totally wrong on this? Can't anyone on the bench or floor shoot those free throws?

Thanks for what you guys do and I apologize for myself and my fellow coaches, you guys do great things for kids.
You were right. Anyone can sub in to shoot a Tech FT, unless you had just subbed that player out, as they must sit until the clock legally starts before they are allowed back in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:29am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,306
Anybody can shoot. See Rule 8, Section 3.

I want to say that a different player may each free throw if so desired, but I can't find anything on that in the rule or case books.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Feb 02, 2018 at 08:52am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 108
Piggy back side question, when they sub in someone to shoot the free throws for the T do you beckon in all subs waiting at this time?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Anybody can shoot. See Rule 8, Section 5.

I want to say that a different player may each free throw if so desired, but I can't find anything on that in the rule or case books.
8-3. Note the specific word "thrower(s)"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 11:06am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
Piggy back side question, when they sub in someone to shoot the free throws for the T do you beckon in all subs waiting at this time?
I would/do.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 11:09am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,324
Send a message via AIM to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via MSN to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via Yahoo to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
You were right. Anyone can sub in to shoot a Tech FT, unless you had just subbed that player out, as they must sit until the clock legally starts before they are allowed back in.

Frezer11:

I have officiated for 47 years now, and I have never (with apologies to the late J. Dallas Shirely) had this situation happen in any of my games nor I have ever thought of that situation.


NFHS R8-S3:
The free throws awarded because of a technical foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free *thrower(s).


NCAA Men's R8-S3-A4:
Technical fouls—The free throws awarded because of any technical foul may be attempted by any player or eligible team member on the offended team, who shall be designated by the head coach or captain of the offended team. However, the same player shall shoot both free throws.


NCAA Women's R8-S3-A3:
Technical, unsportsmanlike and disqualifying fouls—The free throws awarded because of any technical, unsportsmanlike or disqualifying foul may be attempted by any player or eligible team member on the offended team, who shall be designated by the head coach or captain of the offended team. However, the same player shall attempt both free throws.


I think that how we define an eligible substitute or eligible team member would determine whether your interpretation is correct or not, AND I am NOT saying it is not correct.

A case in point is who can attempt TF FTs for TFs committed before the Jump Ball to start the game. Several years ago the NFHS issued a Casebook Play allowing a non-starter to attempt the FTs. I am not surprised at that ruling because the late Dick Schindler had expressed his opinion many many years earlier that for all intents and purposes, when a TF has been committed before the Jump Ball to start the game, the TF is in reality, the start of the game, and therefore anyone including an eligible substitute can attempt the TF FTs.

You situation is a new spin on what is an eligible substitute? Does eligible mean a substitute that has not been Disqualified or does it mean any non-Disqualified substitute that, per Rule, can re-enter that game at that moment?

Dick Schindler and later the NFHS Casebook Play took a very expansive definition of eligible, taking the position that any means just that: ANY! As long as they are not Disqualified.

For those who are wondering, I am inclined to apply the NFHS expansive position from its pre-game Casebook Play and allow a player who has just been removed from the game via substitution to return to attempt the FTs. Just my two cents.

Let the debate begin.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I want to say that a different player may each free throw if so desired, but I can't find anything on that in the rule or case books.

Correct in NFHS. Might come in handy if you’ve got a few bench warmers in a game that’s not close who otherwise never get to shoot a FT. I’ve never seen it actually employed, however. I don’t think most coaches know (or care) that you could do this.

In NCAA (M at least, I think both), same player must shoot both (if two awarded) for each TF.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Frezer11:

I have officiated for 47 years now, and I have never (with apologies to the late J. Dallas Shirely) had this situation happen in any of my games nor I have ever thought of that situation.


NFHS R8-S3:
The free throws awarded because of a technical foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free *thrower(s).


NCAA Men's R8-S3-A4:
Technical fouls—The free throws awarded because of any technical foul may be attempted by any player or eligible team member on the offended team, who shall be designated by the head coach or captain of the offended team. However, the same player shall shoot both free throws.


NCAA Women's R8-S3-A3:
Technical, unsportsmanlike and disqualifying fouls—The free throws awarded because of any technical, unsportsmanlike or disqualifying foul may be attempted by any player or eligible team member on the offended team, who shall be designated by the head coach or captain of the offended team. However, the same player shall attempt both free throws.


I think that how we define an eligible substitute or eligible team member would determine whether your interpretation is correct or not, AND I am NOT saying it is not correct.

A case in point is who can attempt TF FTs for TFs committed before the Jump Ball to start the game. Several years ago the NFHS issued a Casebook Play allowing a non-starter to attempt the FTs. I am not surprised at that ruling because the late Dick Schindler had expressed his opinion many many years earlier that for all intents and purposes, when a TF has been committed before the Jump Ball to start the game, the TF is in reality, the start of the game, and therefore anyone including an eligible substitute can attempt the TF FTs.

You situation is a new spin on what is an eligible substitute? Does eligible mean a substitute that has not been Disqualified or does it mean any non-Disqualified substitute that, per Rule, can re-enter that game at that moment?

Dick Schindler and later the NFHS Casebook Play took a very expansive definition of eligible, taking the position that any means just that: ANY! As long as they are not Disqualified.

For those who are wondering, I am inclined to apply the NFHS expansive position from its pre-game Casebook Play and allow a player who has just been removed from the game via substitution to return to attempt the FTs. Just my two cents.

Let the debate begin.

MTD, Sr.
NFHS case 8.2 Sit A: (2 separate shooters for TF FT's is legal)

NFHS case 8.3 Sit: (gotta sit a tick)
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Frezer11:

I have officiated for 47 years now, and I have never (with apologies to the late J. Dallas Shirely) had this situation happen in any of my games nor I have ever thought of that situation.


NFHS R8-S3:
The free throws awarded because of a technical foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free *thrower(s).


NCAA Men's R8-S3-A4:
Technical fouls—The free throws awarded because of any technical foul may be attempted by any player or eligible team member on the offended team, who shall be designated by the head coach or captain of the offended team. However, the same player shall shoot both free throws.


NCAA Women's R8-S3-A3:
Technical, unsportsmanlike and disqualifying fouls—The free throws awarded because of any technical, unsportsmanlike or disqualifying foul may be attempted by any player or eligible team member on the offended team, who shall be designated by the head coach or captain of the offended team. However, the same player shall attempt both free throws.


I think that how we define an eligible substitute or eligible team member would determine whether your interpretation is correct or not, AND I am NOT saying it is not correct.

A case in point is who can attempt TF FTs for TFs committed before the Jump Ball to start the game. Several years ago the NFHS issued a Casebook Play allowing a non-starter to attempt the FTs. I am not surprised at that ruling because the late Dick Schindler had expressed his opinion many many years earlier that for all intents and purposes, when a TF has been committed before the Jump Ball to start the game, the TF is in reality, the start of the game, and therefore anyone including an eligible substitute can attempt the TF FTs.

You situation is a new spin on what is an eligible substitute? Does eligible mean a substitute that has not been Disqualified or does it mean any non-Disqualified substitute that, per Rule, can re-enter that game at that moment?

Dick Schindler and later the NFHS Casebook Play took a very expansive definition of eligible, taking the position that any means just that: ANY! As long as they are not Disqualified.

For those who are wondering, I am inclined to apply the NFHS expansive position from its pre-game Casebook Play and allow a player who has just been removed from the game via substitution to return to attempt the FTs. Just my two cents.

Let the debate begin.

MTD, Sr.
MTD, I actually agree with you, and would have a hard time if presented this situation in a game, not allowing the substituted player attempt those FTs. I just know we had a discussion within the last couple weeks on this forum about allowing a substituted player to come back to shoot these, and the general consensus was that they should not be allowed:

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...k-does-he.html
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,129
Sorry, MTD, but that is not allowed.
Substitution rules need to be enforced. At that time the team member is not an eligible substitute.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Sorry, MTD, but that is not allowed.
Substitution rules need to be enforced. At that time the team member is not an eligible substitute.
That is correct. The player is not eligible to return to shoot the free throws. However, if he is erroneously allowed to return and shoot he becomes a legal player and the results of the free throws stand and is not correctable. See Illegal Entry 3.3.3 Situation B.
__________________
The rule book is pretty much black and white; but it needs to be read, reviewed and revised.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 05:39pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 15,669
Please Reconsider ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Frezer11:I have officiated for 47 years now, and I have never (with apologies to the late J. Dallas Shirely) had this situation happen in any of my games nor I have ever thought of that situation.
NFHS R8-S3:
The free throws awarded because of a technical foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free *thrower(s).
NCAA Men's R8-S3-A4:
Technical fouls—The free throws awarded because of any technical foul may be attempted by any player or eligible team member on the offended team, who shall be designated by the head coach or captain of the offended team. However, the same player shall shoot both free throws.
NCAA Women's R8-S3-A3:
Technical, unsportsmanlike and disqualifying fouls—The free throws awarded because of any technical, unsportsmanlike or disqualifying foul may be attempted by any player or eligible team member on the offended team, who shall be designated by the head coach or captain of the offended team. However, the same player shall attempt both free throws. I think that how we define an eligible substitute or eligible team member would determine whether your interpretation is correct or not, AND I am NOT saying it is not correct. A case in point is who can attempt TF FTs for TFs committed before the Jump Ball to start the game. Several years ago the NFHS issued a Casebook Play allowing a non-starter to attempt the FTs. I am not surprised at that ruling because the late Dick Schindler had expressed his opinion many many years earlier that for all intents and purposes, when a TF has been committed before the Jump Ball to start the game, the TF is in reality, the start of the game, and therefore anyone including an eligible substitute can attempt the TF FTs. You situation is a new spin on what is an eligible substitute? Does eligible mean a substitute that has not been Disqualified or does it mean any non-Disqualified substitute that, per Rule, can re-enter that game at that moment? Dick Schindler and later the NFHS Casebook Play took a very expansive definition of eligible, taking the position that any means just that: ANY! As long as they are not Disqualified. For those who are wondering, I am inclined to apply the NFHS expansive position from its pre-game Casebook Play and allow a player who has just been removed from the game via substitution to return to attempt the FTs. Just my two cents. Let the debate begin.MTD, Sr.
We've got Welpe to thank for this. I don't remember a Forum vote to rescind Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.'s ban from the Forum. Maybe Welpe should reconsider his decision?
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 12:45am
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Anybody can shoot. See Rule 8, Section 5.

I want to say that a different player may each free throw if so desired, but I can't find anything on that in the rule or case books.
Here is the appropriate passage from NFHS Rules Book from 2010-2011. Rule 8-3 in that book.

The free throws awarded because of a technical foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower(s).

I don't think this citation has materially changed over the years,
The (s) seals the deal, at least for me

Sorry, late to the party. I think Nevadaref is correctly applying the proper interp based on the affirmative mention of ELIGIBLE substitute.
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)

Last edited by justacoach; Fri Feb 02, 2018 at 12:54am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 01:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Here is the appropriate passage from NFHS Rules Book from 2010-2011. Rule 8-3 in that book.

The free throws awarded because of a technical foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower(s).

I don't think this citation has materially changed over the years,
The (s) seals the deal, at least for me

Sorry, late to the party. I think Nevadaref is correctly applying the proper interp based on the affirmative mention of ELIGIBLE substitute.
Exactly. This statement doesn't erase other rules. It is just saying subs that could otherwise come in can take the FTs.

Just to add another point to this interpretation....what if the player the coach wanted to designate to take the FTs was coming off the bench and had purple and orange striped tights on, big hoop earrings, an untucked shirt, and an and the likeness of MTD, Sr. tattooed on his bicep? Would you let that player shoot the FTs or would you send them back for being improperly equipped (for the tattoo, of course)?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical Foul Free Throws Mountain Dew Basketball 25 Sat Feb 19, 2011 08:00pm
Double Technical Foul - How many free throws? dietpepsicherry Basketball 20 Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:45pm
Positioning on Technical Foul Free Throws Welpe Basketball 12 Tue Nov 24, 2009 04:52pm
Shot Technical foul free throws at wrong basket. Jerry Blum Basketball 3 Wed Jan 29, 2003 11:48am
Can a sub shoot the technical free throws? OFoley Basketball 4 Mon Jan 24, 2000 11:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1