The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2000, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to OFoley
Question

In an unrelated question to my last post, I wonder, the rule book gives this as a definition:

The free throws awarded because of a technical foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an entering substitute who is replacing a player or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower(s).

>>My question is this, does the 'entering substitute' have to had checked into the scorer's table already, meaning he was going to enter regardless of the 'T'? Or, once the technical has been called, can the coach have a substitute check in at that time to shoot the free throws? Guess I basically want to know what is the definition of an "entering substitute"?

Thanks for the help!
Matt

[This message has been edited by OFoley (edited January 23, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2000, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 94
Post

OFoley:

It is my understanding that the entering sub can shoot the tech. I don't think I've ever seen it happen though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 24, 2000, 02:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 122
Cool

Yes teh coach can sub in any player, that is in the book ot shoot the T. The sub does not have to already be at the table.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 24, 2000, 02:13am
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 171
Send a message via AIM to Bradley Batt
Post

Any player, including bench personnel, can shoot technical free throws. In fact, A6 could shoot the first one and A7 the second. Many coaches will sub in their best free throw shooter for a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 24, 2000, 11:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 147
Send a message via ICQ to Alaska Ref
Post

Brad is right! Any player can attempt the Tech and then leave the game and sit on the bench! The only time a sub must shoot the free throws is if the offended player (on a bonus or 1-2-3 shot) is injured.

------------------
Don
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1