The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2022, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
location of player

if player touching ball but not in control, then goes out of bounds and leaves ball on court, then is first to touch after coming back on the court, is that good? Or does he need to have both feet down? High school and college same rule? Asking for general rules knowledge, I thought I had seen a few years ago that contrary to conventional wisdom, you only needed one foot back in and the other airborne to be considered in bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2022, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
if player touching ball but not in control, then goes out of bounds and leaves ball on court, then is first to touch after coming back on the court, is that good? Or does he need to have both feet down? High school and college same rule? Asking for general rules knowledge, I thought I had seen a few years ago that contrary to conventional wisdom, you only needed one foot back in and the other airborne to be considered in bounds.
The rule is the same., You can find it under Player Location in the FED rule book.. I think that's 4-35 (from memory) but I might be wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2022, 01:57pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,545
There is no "first touch" provision in the rule.

And all a player has to do to establish being inbounds is touching the floor without touching the out of bounds. And high school and college in this area is basically the same. Some variations are there, but not when saving a ball or going out because your momentum takes you out.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2022, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
if player touching ball but not in control, then goes out of bounds and leaves ball on court, then is first to touch after coming back on the court, is that good? Or does he need to have both feet down? High school and college same rule? Asking for general rules knowledge, I thought I had seen a few years ago that contrary to conventional wisdom, you only needed one foot back in and the other airborne to be considered in bounds.
NFHS case book plays 7.1.1 Situations A-D address this.

There is no requirement to have both feet inbounds. "Something in and nothing out" makes it legal. I'll let college officials handle their rules sets.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2022, 03:04pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,331
Out Of Bounds ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Goodwin View Post
NFHS case book plays 7.1.1 Situations A-D address this. There is no requirement to have both feet inbounds. "Something in and nothing out" makes it legal.
7.1.1 SITUATION A: A1, while holding the ball inbounds near the sideline, touches (a) player B1; (b) a photographer; (c) a coach; (d) an official, all of whom are out of bounds. RULING: A1 is not out of bounds in (a), (b), (c) or (d). To be out of bounds, A1 must touch the floor or some object on or outside a boundary line. People are not considered to be objects and play continues. Inadvertently touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not considered a violation.

7.1.1 SITUATION B: A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did.

7.1.1 SITUATION C: A1 blocks a pass near the sideline and the ball goes into A1’s front court. A1’s momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He/she immediately returns inbounds, secures control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores. RULING: Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3)

7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b)returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)

If a player's momentum carries the player off the court, that player can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily, and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in, and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

To be out of bounds, a player must touch the floor, or some object, on or outside a boundary line. People are not considered to be objects, so if a player inadvertently touches someone who is out of bounds (another player, a photographer, a coach, an official, etc.), without gaining an advantage, is not considered an out of bounds violation. A dribbler has committed a violation if they step on or outside a boundary, even though the dribbler is not touching the ball while they are out of bounds. Out-of-bounds violations do not apply to players involved in interrupted dribbles.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2022, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
thanks. I do find when playing that nearly everyone thinks that both you can't be last to touch, go out of bounds, then come back in and be first to touch, and they think both feet need to be both back in to re-establish. Wanted to make sure I wasn't misremembering it all.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2022, 04:20pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,331
Basketball Rule Myths ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
... nearly everyone thinks that both you can't be last to touch, go out of bounds, then come back in and be first to touch, and they think both feet need to be both back in to re-establish ...
Agree, which is why it's one of the most important items on my Misunderstood Basketball Rules list.

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...ml#post1045823
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 24, 2022, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Going out of bounds "voluntarily"

Is "voluntarily" considered synonymous with "on purpose". I've seen guys sprinting the floor wide to get to the corner and inadvertently touch a sideline along the way, but are clearly inbounds ready to shoot in the corner by the time the ball is passed to them. Is this a violation? I would consider inadvertent as not voluntary, but I don't know if there's a case supporting that.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2022, 12:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,331
Two Feet Down ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
Or does he need to have both feet down? High school and college same rule?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Goodwin View Post
There is no requirement to have both feet inbounds. "Something in and nothing out" makes it legal.
For the good of the cause, this has nothing to do with the original post, but both feet down does impact a three second violation, and something in and nothing out legality does not apply to a three second violation.

There is a three second count while an offensive player has one foot in the lane, and one foot outside of the lane, and the three second count continues if this player lifts the foot in the lane so that neither foot is touching inside the lane. To stop the count this player must have both feet touch the court outside of the lane.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Player TF restart location? Amesman Basketball 11 Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:26am
Player location during technical foul free-throw David Basketball 17 Tue May 06, 2008 02:14pm
Rule 4 - Section 35 Player Location RefLarry Basketball 4 Sun Apr 06, 2008 03:06pm
Location Map grantsrc Football 15 Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:14am
Player Location/Status and Legal Guarding position Jeremy Hohn Basketball 11 Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1