![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Hypothesis ...
There's a difference between guessing and educated guessing.
We use the language available to us in the rulebook, casebook, Points of Emphasis, and annual interpretations to make educated guesses, stating relevant citations along the way, to hopefully come up with correct interpretations regarding "odd" situations not specifically covered by the available language. That's the science component; research, logic, and rational thought leading to a hypothesis. That's right in my wheelhouse. The art component is to use sometimes limited available language to "fill in the blanks". That's not usually in my wheelhouse, and I will often look for guidance from others.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Aug 12, 2021 at 03:31pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Peer Review ...
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Aug 12, 2021 at 05:46pm. |
|
|||
Lack Of An Ending To Said Dribble ...
Quote:
It's the dribble, and only the dribble, and nothing but the dribble, and a lack of an ending to said dribble, that makes 4-4-6 exception relevant. No dribble, and we're left with the other ball location rules (Article 4 and Article 6), with a much different outcome (interpretation). If A1 in the backcourt passes the ball to A2, standing with both feet in the frontcourt, and if A2 fumbles the catch, and the ball bounces into the backcourt, then Article 4 and Article 6, and the last to touch first to touch rule would all apply. But it's not a pass, it's a dribble, a dribble that never ends. These rules and interpretation are very clear and are quite easy to understand. Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Aug 12, 2021 at 05:51pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() If the ball is touching a person that is in the FC, then they are in the FC in all situations. The only element of this is whether there is a dribble and if that dribble touches the floor or has touched the floor. The ball going off a person changes the status of the ball or there is nothing that says it doesn't in the rules. The rule does not make a distinction between a pass or or a deflection. And an interrupted dribble can be a deflection or a mishandled ball. So if I have an interrupted dribble and the interrupted dribble hits a teammate that is in the FC in the air and then goes back to the BC, the status of the ball does not change? OK, you go with that one. So as far as I am concerned you are wrong. So now what? ![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Truth Or Dare ...
Quote:
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt. 4-4-6: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt. 2000-01 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations: The provision of, “both feet and the ball being in the frontcourt” to determine frontcourt status, is only relevant during a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt. "The only element of this is whether there is a dribble and if that dribble touches the floor or has touched the floor. The ball going off a person changes the status of the ball or there is nothing that says it doesn't in the rules"? Not true, the dribbled ball going off a person doesn't change the dribbled status of the ball, because the ball going off a person doesn't end the dribble. 4-15-4: The dribble ends when: a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands. b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands. c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands. d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control. e. The ball becomes dead. "The rule does not make a distinction between a pass or or a deflection"? Not true. It does make an important distinction between a pass and a deflected dribble One (pass) isn't covered by the 4-4-6 exception, and one (deflected dribble) is covered by the 4-4-6 exception. 2000-01 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations: The provision of, “both feet and the ball being in the frontcourt” to determine frontcourt status, is only relevant during a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt. "An interrupted dribble can be a deflection or a mishandled ball"? Agree 100% with this, but not sure how it's relevant, other than because we're straight-lined, we can't really see if the ball was self-deflected, or simply mishandled. In any case, neither would end the dribble. 4-15-4: The dribble ends when: a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands. b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands. c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands. d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control. e. The ball becomes dead. Waiting for real NFHS citations to counter my hypotheses (all that came with citation proof). I'm especially curious to know when the dribble ended and the 4-4-6 exception was no longer was applicable.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Aug 12, 2021 at 06:27pm. |
|
|||
Again, bring me a ruling from IAABO then talk to me about what the ruling should be. Until then, you are giving just an opinion.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fun With The Division Line ... | BillyMac | Basketball | 18 | Sun Feb 28, 2021 11:21am |
Fun With The Division Line ... | BillyMac | Basketball | 14 | Wed Dec 30, 2020 10:18am |
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? | NoFussRef | Basketball | 16 | Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm |
Division line | phansen | Basketball | 4 | Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:05pm |
Sitting Over Division Line | cmcramer | Basketball | 5 | Sat Dec 22, 2007 06:44pm |