The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 22, 2007, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 50
Sitting Over Division Line

After scrambling for a loose ball, defensive player B1 gains possession of the ball while sitting over top of the division line, facing the wrong basket: butt and ball in his frontcourt, feet in his backcourt, knees in the air.

Ref immediately calls backcourt violation.

Good call?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 22, 2007, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcramer
After scrambling for a loose ball, defensive player B1 gains possession of the ball while sitting over top of the division line, facing the wrong basket: butt and ball in his frontcourt, feet in his backcourt, knees in the air.

Ref immediately calls backcourt violation.

Good call?

Thanks!
Can't say. In the position described, the player is in the backcourt.

You did not state where the ball was before this and which team touched it last prior to B1 ending up with the ball.

PS We use B1 to denote a defensive player, so I would assume that Team A previously had the ball. Is that right?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 22, 2007, 04:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Were his feet in the air when he initially gained possession? That may be what the official saw; if so, he was correct. If not, it seems as if he may have gotten the call wrong.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 22, 2007, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 50
Yep, Team A had the ball previously, and Team B first gained Team Control when B1 grabbed ball sitting down.....in the backcourt, you say.

Sounds like it shoulda been a no call? Yes?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 22, 2007, 04:54pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcramer
Yep, Team A had the ball previously, and Team B first gained Team Control when B1 grabbed ball sitting down.....in the backcourt, you say.

Sounds like it shoulda been a no call? Yes?
Yes. From your description and clarification, when B established team control, B1 had backcourt status.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 22, 2007, 06:44pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcramer
Sounds like it shoulda been a no call? Yes?
Just make sure he doesn't move his pivot cheek.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sitch: FC throw-in near division line. mick Basketball 1 Wed Dec 05, 2007 06:58pm
Straddling the division line. mick Basketball 21 Wed Feb 09, 2005 09:56pm
Sitting on ball bigzilla Basketball 18 Tue Feb 08, 2005 11:11am
Player steps on division line while in Front Court , is this a violation Br36ian Basketball 2 Wed Jan 10, 2001 12:38am
sitting down on 30 TO johnfox Basketball 6 Thu Dec 07, 2000 02:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1