The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2021, 11:26am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
It does not matter. If the ball reached FC status, that is the first issue. If the ball was last touched by the team in control and goes into the BC, that is the second thing that matters. I could suggest that the ball touched the FC and was last touched by the dribbler and then touched first by the dribbler in the FC. It would not matter if the ball during the interrupted dribble had gained FC status at some point.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2021, 11:43am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Status ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
If the ball reached FC status, that is the first issue.
Agree. Yes it is, and it's determined by the above rule.

Dribbler can get both the left foot and the right foot across the division line (in the frontcourt) and keep dribbling, touching the ball, and bouncing the ball in the backcourt, for ten seconds with no backcourt violation.

Would the ball touching the dribbler on his backside (if it actually happened) be considered part of this dribble, and thus legal; or does the interrupted dribble (if it actually is an interrupted dribble) "cancel" the "three points" rule, giving the interrupted dribbler "full" frontcourt status, and thus, a backcourt violation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Aug 11, 2021 at 12:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2021, 02:28pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Again ...

JRutledge and Raymond brought up some good points in their posts, so I looked at the video again.

I am certain the the ball never touched the frontcourt, and thus never achieved frontcourt status as it was dribbled. The ball only achieved frontcourt status when dribbler Red #40 picked up his dribble with both hands after the official sounded her whistle for the backcourt violation.

Of course, the official in the video didn't have the luxury of second slow motion look.

The only question that I have is how did the ball end up going "backward", did Red #40 dribble it "backward", or did the ball deflect off of Red #40's body and deflect "backward"?

Dribble "backward" is easy, legal, no backcourt violation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
It's possible the ball hit A1's backside after he was completely in the front court, then went into the back court.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
..knocked backwards.
If the ball did deflect off of Red #40's body and deflect "backward" as an interrupted dribble, does that move "cancel" the "three points" rule, giving the interrupted dribbler "full" frontcourt status (like if the ball had been passed to him and he touched but muffed catching the pass while he was standing in the frontcourt), and thus, a backcourt violation after the ball bounced in the backcourt and Red #40 then touched the ball with his next dribble?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Could there have been an interrupted dribble here, and would that affect the adjudication?
Nice video. We don't get great look, but it's still a nice video for rule discussion.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Aug 11, 2021 at 02:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2021, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
An interrupted dribble is still a dribble, but it is unclear which dribbling rules apply during this time.
For example, may the dribbler step on the sideline during an interrupted dribble without violating? Most would answer, yes.
Can the dribbler touch the ball with both hands simultaneously in an attempt to regain control and then continue to dribble? Most would answer, no.
Does the three points rule still apply? I don’t know.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2021, 04:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Most ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
... may the dribbler step on the sideline during an interrupted dribble without violating? Most would answer, yes.
All should answer yes.

4-15-6-D: During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Can the dribbler touch the ball with both hands simultaneously in an attempt to regain control and then continue to dribble? Most would answer, no.
All should answer no.

4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (c) the ball hits A1’s foot and bounces away but A1 is able to overtake and pick it up; RULING: In (c), the dribble ended when A1 caught the ball; Even though the dribble has ended in (c), A1 may recover the ball but may not dribble again. (9-5)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Aug 11, 2021 at 04:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2021, 04:53pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
If it goes off his leg and the his leg is clearly in the FC, I would think the three points is not a hard-fast rule in that specific situation. That being said I would agree that this is likely not very clear as to the issue of a dribble normally coming from the BC to the FC. I think this would be similar to the ball touching your leg and going out of bounds. Yes it is an interrupted dribble, but the ball had FC status while the player is touching the ball.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2021, 05:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Off Leg ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
... likely not very clear ... it is an interrupted dribble, but the ball had FC status while the player is touching the ball ...
Dribble off hand? Ball is still considered to be in the backcourt (three points). Legal. Play on.

Deflection off leg? Ball is considered to be in the frontcourt (like if the ball had been passed to him and he touched but muffed catching the pass while he was standing in the frontcourt), leading to a backcourt violation?

Not agreeing, but not disagreeing either.

Maybe one of those fuzzy, gray areas that the NFHS hasn't considered in the past zillion years?

Is an interrupted dribble a dribble?

Has the dribble ended?

4-15-4: The dribble ends when:
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.
b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands.
c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.
d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.
e. The ball becomes dead.


None of these five things happened.

I think that this interrupted dribble is still a dribble (it hasn't ended) and that the "three points" rule is still in effect and applies.

Just my opinion, not cast in bronze.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Aug 11, 2021 at 05:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2021, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
The three-points rule states that the ball must touch the court, not a player, in the frontcourt in order to gain frontcourt status.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fun With The Division Line ... BillyMac Basketball 18 Sun Feb 28, 2021 11:21am
Fun With The Division Line ... BillyMac Basketball 14 Wed Dec 30, 2020 10:18am
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? NoFussRef Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm
Division line phansen Basketball 4 Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:05pm
Sitting Over Division Line cmcramer Basketball 5 Sat Dec 22, 2007 06:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1